They could have saved the aloe

I’m going to admit a weakness for Twitter, an online microblogging service I once discounted as totally stupid and now? Now? I’m completely hooked.

It was through Twitter’s blog that I learned about a service that just might have solved my aloe problem: Botanicalls. This company has set up plants that actually send you a message via Twitter when they need to be watered. Not too soon, not too late. Just right.

Check this out: here’s a plant that you can actually follow. Of course, because none of us know where it is (besides New York City), we can’t answer the call for help when it comes. But to watch the drama play out on my very own cellphone? I can barely resist.

7 Responses to “They could have saved the aloe”


  1. 1 Nancy March 5, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    Water Aloes??

    I never water them, well…not unless everything else is getting watered too. They can survive dry as dust or swamp for a while. I’ve even seen them GROW after I’d pulled them out of the soil and put them aside and didn’t get back to them for a week or two.

    I’ve got a LOT of aloe.

    Want some?

  2. 2 Carol, May Dreams Gardens March 5, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Ha, I’m following that plant on Twitter, too. So far, nothing. And you are right, we don’t know where it is so even if we get a “tweet” we can’t help it!

  3. 3 Guy from work who always asks you questions March 5, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    I want to know why Twitter is great and how I can use it in my life. Stop by.

  4. 4 gintoino March 6, 2008 at 11:18 am

    Twitter would be a waste of time with the aloe, I doubt it would ever send you a message teling you it needed water ;-)

  5. 5 Curtis March 7, 2008 at 11:06 am

    Oh gosh. I can only imagine hooking all my houseplants to twitter. I have been tweeting and following for 3 or 4 months now. Now I can follow you too.

  6. 6 inadvertentgardener March 14, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    Carol, I’m not sure why there hasn’t been any more on that plant.

    Guy from work, I think I’m going to have to nudge you shortly, because you have not been Tweeting!

    Gintoino, I think you’re right…

    Curtis, glad we can follow each other!

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener March 14, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    Nancy, actually, I would love some!


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!