The secret garden, part 1

Cloisters from belowAs we approached the Cloisters from further down the hill, I pointed up to a tree peeking over the top of a walled garden. “Look, an apple tree!” I said to my friend Alex. “I wonder if we can get in there?”

Inside the museum, we wandered amidst Madonnas and child, friezes and tapestries, but seemed as if we were up far too high to access the garden where we would find that tree.

A guard stood to one side of a gallery, his eyelids drooping a bit. We sidled up to him.

“How are you doing?” I asked.

“A little tired,” he said.

We talked about the weather, and why he was tired, and George Bush before I finally felt like we’d had enough small talk to broach the issue at hand. “From outside,” I said, “we could see an apple tree. Can we get to it?”

A slow grin spread across his face. “Down these stairs and to the left, and you will see a door right in front of you. Go outside it, and there it will be.”

Alex and I scurried down the steps until we came upon a heavy wooden door. It had no sign on it, and for a moment, I feared we were about to set off an alarm.

“Do you think it’s OK?” I asked, my hand poised to push.

“Sure,” she said. “Go ahead.”

Stay tuned for Part 2 of this story, which will appear on Wednesday…

9 Responses to “The secret garden, part 1”


  1. 1 Lydia December 17, 2007 at 8:19 am

    Ah, the Cloisters…so many wonderful things to discover there! It is still, after many visits over many decades, one of my very favorite museums.

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener December 17, 2007 at 8:59 am

    Lydia, I’d never been there before November, and it is a gorgeous, gorgeous place!

  3. 3 Christina December 17, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    How dare you leave us hanging like this!

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener December 18, 2007 at 8:36 am

    Christina, you’ll just have to come back and read more!

  5. 5 Heather December 18, 2007 at 7:31 pm

    Oh what a tease you are!

  6. 6 inadvertentgardener December 18, 2007 at 11:18 pm

    Heather, just a little longer to wait… :-)

  7. 7 chigiy December 20, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    A cliff-hanger. It’s a good thing I read this after you published part two, or I would have thought about it all night.

  8. 8 inadvertentgardener December 20, 2007 at 11:45 pm

    Chigiy, I’d hate to keep you up at night! Thanks for reading…


  1. 1 The secret garden, part 2 « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on December 19, 2007 at 6:58 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!