Basil rice patties

For a variety of reasons, I haven’t been doing much cooking lately, and when I have been cooking, it has been things like grilled cheese or rosemary-artichoke hummus (Note to those who thought that business about making it every week was hyperbole: I have, in fact, made it every week since I first made it, and I’ve gotten a Very Special Request from a friend who wants their own supply, and this week I’ve made it twice already), and the former holds no interest as a blog recipe and the latter has, well, already been covered.

But last night, I made my way to the gym after work, and the gym is up in Cedar Rapids, because my Cedar Rapids company funds said gym, and so that meant I had about 40 minutes on the way home to think about food. To think a LOT about food. And what kind of food I could cook. And what kind of food I could cook quickly. And what kind of food would keep me from gnawing my arm off before I could get it on the table.

Thanks to a little inspiration from Lydia at the Perfect Pantry, I made some brown rice earlier in the week with an eye toward making the During the cooking processfried rice recipe she featured recently. But I wanted to get even simpler, even faster, and so leaned toward making eggy, rice-y patties, sort of like mini risotto pancakes, but without the pedigree.

I have basil coming out the wazoo at the moment (an interesting problem to have, one might say…), and I have plenty of eggs. A dash of soy sauce, some time in the sauté pan, and a fresh basil-tomato topping for flair, and dinner was served up with a side of DVD. It was quick comfort food, but to be fair, some of the healthiest comfort food I’ve made since, well, last week.

Basil rice pattiesBasil Rice Patties
(Serves 3)

3 cups cooked, chilled brown rice
3 eggs
2 Tbsp. soy sauce or tamari
1/4 c. sliced fresh basil leaves
2 Tbsp. olive oil
3/4 c. diced fresh tomatoes
Additional sliced basil leaves to sprinkle over the top
Salt and pepper to taste

  1. Pour the rice in a bowl and add the soy sauce and the sliced basil leaves. Crack the eggs into the bowl and mix everything together. This can certainly be done with a spoon, but it’s more fun to use your hands. Trust me.
  2. Heat the olive oil in a large sauté pan. When it is hot, spoon the rice mixture into the pan, making three pancake-shaped patties. Flatten the patties with the spoon. You want them to be no more than about 1/3-inch thick. My 12-inch sauté pan held three patties with room to spare, which used about half the rice mixture.
  3. Let the patties cook until brown and set on the bottom side. This should take approximately seven to ten minutes. Some of the egg and soy sauce may run out and cook alongside the patties—don’t worry about that. It’s still tasty.
  4. When the patties are brown and holding together, flip them quickly and carefully, using the widest spatula you have.
  5. Let the patties brown for another five to seven minutes on the second side. Meanwhile, chop the tomatoes and basil for the topping.
  6. When the patties are done, remove them from the heat and repeat the process with the second half of the rice mixture.
  7. Serve two patties per plate, topping with the chopped tomatoes and additional basil. Add salt and pepper to taste and serve immediately.

This is my contribution to Weekend Herb Blogging for the week, which is being hosted at Kalyn’s Kitchen. Because it’s a holiday weekend here in the U.S., Kalyn won’t be posting the full round-up until Monday, but I encourage you to check it out then!

15 Responses to “Basil rice patties”


  1. 1 Lydia August 31, 2007 at 7:01 am

    Genie, now you have inspired me! I too have basil out the wazoo, and I’m determined to get it before the Japanese beetles do. I love your recipe idea and I’m going to make some brown rice and try it!

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener August 31, 2007 at 8:15 am

    Lydia, I’m glad we’re able to inspire each other! Let me know how they turn out. I can also report they make excellent breakfast leftovers, by the way…

  3. 3 Jenny August 31, 2007 at 10:04 am

    This sounds so good. I’ve got some brown basmati rice that I might cook up this weekend and try out with this recipe. Yum.

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener August 31, 2007 at 10:07 am

    It’s good stuff, Jenny, for sure. And actually, come to think of it, I believe brown basmati is what I had in the fridge. Very, very tasty.

  5. 5 Sugar Creek Farm August 31, 2007 at 11:12 am

    Yum – I’ve got both basil and eggs, and tomatoes for that matter, coming out the wazoo. Definitely going to give this a try!

  6. 6 Katiez August 31, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    Brown rice patties – I love it! Especially with the basil and tomato on top. I bet they were good cold…if there were any left. Breakfast? Lunch? Snacks? Yum!

  7. 7 Robin (Bumblebee) August 31, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    I had to laugh about your “basil out the wazoo” crack. One year I planted so much basil that I resorted to chopping it down with a week whacker and putting it into garbage bags for everyone I knew!

    Hard to believe I spend $3 for a prescious two springs in January!

    –Robin (Bumblebee)

  8. 8 Kalyn August 31, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    I think you’re very talented as an inventive cook. Sounds good to me. By the way, my mother would say too much basil is “a good problem to have.”

  9. 9 Joyce August 31, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    love these recipes, will try out the rosemary artichoke hummus and this one, too! yumyum

  10. 10 inadvertentgardener September 2, 2007 at 4:56 pm

    Kelli, they’re a great way to get rid of all those things!

    Katiez, they were great as leftovers, although I heated them up both times.

    Robin, it’s amazing how quickly the stuff grows when it gets going. I love it!

    Kalyn, thank you for the compliment — coming from you, that’s high praise! And I agree…too much basil is a good problem to have.

    Joyce, I hope you find success with the recipes!

  11. 11 Valli September 3, 2007 at 12:10 pm

    The rice patties sound delicious, but I had to print up the recipe for the artichoke basil hummus. I will be giving that a try for sure since you recommend it so highly!!!

  12. 12 inadvertentgardener September 3, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    Valli, I hope you really enjoy the hummus. The rice patties are excellent, too, but I’m not going to pretend…the hummus is pretty fabulous, so if I had a choice of making one or the other, I’d go with the hummus!

  13. 13 Anh September 3, 2007 at 5:22 pm

    This is such a nice and innovative recipe! I am glad to discover a new way of using brown rice.

  14. 14 inadvertentgardener September 3, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    Anh, thanks for the compliment — I hope you enjoy it!


  1. 1 WHB # 98 meine Favoriten « Neues aus der Kueche News from my kitchen Trackback on November 30, 2007 at 8:02 am

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!