Getting it backward

So. There I was, with my Thor Orange Mum and my Blue Haze Evolvulus, Jimi Hendrix stuck in my mind and some residual compost and potting soil from earlier in the season.

I ripped out the abused tomato plant; I had a horrifying moment when I realized the mum and the evolvulus were actually too large already to comfortably fit in the hanging pot; I fumbled around with dirt until I could get them both to fit in; I even mulched them.

Me. I mulched.

Hanging flowers backwardAnd then I went to hang the thing up, and I realized that for all my planning, for all my modicum of thought about Contrast and Excitement(!), I managed to put the stupid plants in the pot backwards.

The mum is the closest to the street. The Blue Haze Evolvulus? The one that likes the full sun and the ground? It faces the porch. It has little to no chance of getting sun.

So much for best-laid plans.

8 Responses to “Getting it backward”


  1. 1 Michelle August 30, 2007 at 5:53 am

    Hmmm, any way to take off the clips that grab the basket and rotate the whole thing? I feel like there must be SOMETHING you can do to fix that . But that’s just me, it would drive me nuts!

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener August 30, 2007 at 6:30 am

    Michelle, hmm…clips on basket…I’m going to have to take a look at that. It is driving me a little nuts, to be honest…

  3. 3 LindaK18 August 30, 2007 at 8:39 am

    OOoohhhh – they are beautiful! I like your choices in color and contrast. Soon winter will be upon us and you won’t have to worry about the sun :( It will look very nice and festive for the fall season though!

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener August 30, 2007 at 8:45 am

    Linda, thanks so much! But please be quiet about the W word…I cannot deal… ;-)

  5. 5 Annie in Austin August 30, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    You must have an unusual hanger or something, Genie – isn’t there a hook at the top that can face left or right? I occasionally rotate my baskets 180º occasionally to keep them even.

    The evolvolus blooms more in sun, but tolerates some shade. Well – in Texas it does!

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  6. 6 Michael August 30, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    Putting the plants in the pot backwards was Genius.
    Perhaps they’ll last longer in the W word like that…

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener August 30, 2007 at 9:37 pm

    Annie, oh. Rotate it right or left. Hmm. That just might work. I will see what I can do about that. And, might I point out, this is why I’m not an engineer?

    Michael, thank you for your utmost confidence in me. I had not thought about using the Mum as protection for the Evolvulus against the W-word, but if the hanger issue doesn’t solve the problem, maybe that will turn out to be its own solution.


  1. 1 The obtuse gardener « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on September 6, 2007 at 11:29 pm

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!