Rosemary-artichoke hummus

I swear I thought I had two cans of chickpeas, which is what’s required by my all-time, Mom’s-favorite hummus recipe, when I got out the food processor to mix up some last week. I swear it, but after much swearing of the naughty kind and a full unpacking of my entire pantry, I determined the truth: One can is all I had.

But all that archeological effort yielded a can of artichoke hearts. Interesting, I thought, and left them on the counter.

Earlier in the summer I tried replacing the mint in my hummus recipe with sage, and this time around I thought I’d give rosemary a whirl. Rosemary and artichoke hearts? It seemed as good a combination as any.

I mixed it up and took a taste. Then another. Then five to eighteen more. This hummus? Good enough to just spoon up like it’s meant to be your entrée.

My friend Alison agreed, as we sat out on my back porch and enjoyed some more. “I could just eat this all night,” she said. “I don’t normally like hummus all that much, but it’s so flavorful and so mild!”

It’s also healthier, even, then regular hummus. Not only do I, once again, skip the tahini, but the artichokes give it an easy smoothness that requires even less olive oil than usual.

“I’m going to make this every week for the rest of my life,” I told Alison. “It’s my new favorite food.”

Rosemary-artichoke hummusRosemary-Artichoke Hummus

2 cloves garlic
3 or 4 Tbsp. fresh rosemary, roughly chopped
1 15 oz. can chickpeas
1 15 oz. can quartered artichoke hearts
The juice of one lemon
Three Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
Salt to taste

  1. Combine the garlic and rosemary in the bowl of a food processor. Pulse 8 to 10 times to chop.
  2. Add the chickpeas, artichoke hearts and lemon juice to the bowl of the food processor. Process for approximately 30 seconds. Scrape the bowl and process again while drizzling in the olive oil. Feel free to add extra olive oil if you do not feel like it’s smooth enough.
  3. Add salt to taste and serve with crackers, bread or vegetables for dipping.

This post is my contribution to this week’s edition of Weekend Herb Blogging, which is being hosted by Zorra from Kochtopf on Monday, August 20. Stop by for the full round-up!

23 Responses to “Rosemary-artichoke hummus”


  1. 1 Christina August 17, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    Yum! What a simple, perfect food. I’m definitely giving this a whirl. Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. 2 Kalyn August 17, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    Oh yes! I can definitely tell this is going to taste just wonderful!

  3. 3 inadvertentgardener August 18, 2007 at 1:27 am

    Christina, you’re quite welcome!

    Kalyn, I hope you enjoy it. I wish it had made it up in time to make your hummus round-up!

  4. 4 zorra August 18, 2007 at 7:29 am

    What a great idea! You know, this way the best dishes are born.

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener August 18, 2007 at 9:41 am

    Zorra, yeah — definitely. And thanks for hosting the WHB round-up this weekend!

  6. 6 Katiez August 19, 2007 at 11:40 am

    Artichoke hearts – perfect! And I like the fact that it’s lower in calories – always a complaint I have of hummus…of course, I don’t need to eat so much… but with this one I can!
    Good Job!

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener August 19, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    Katiez, that’s exactly how I’m looking at it! :-)

  8. 8 mar August 20, 2007 at 2:46 am

    It sounds wonderful! I made hummus yesterday, will use your recipe next time!!

  9. 9 Pille August 20, 2007 at 8:00 am

    What a great-sounding invention!

  10. 10 Simona August 20, 2007 at 12:03 pm

    You gave the perfect answer to the question I had: what am I going to do with this can of artichoke hearts I have in my cupboard? Thanks!

  11. 11 Gloria August 20, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    Oh my that sounds excellent. I love hummus from restaurants, even to the point of getting food poisoning at The Taste of Chicago this Forth of July.Never can make one I really like at home. I am going to try this…soon.

  12. 12 inadvertentgardener August 20, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    Mar, I hope you enjoy it, if you do!

    Pille, thank you!

    Simona, that might be about the only garden-related question I can answer…

    Gloria, you sound like me…willing to sacrifice the body for the food cause. I hope you were feeling better quickly…

  13. 13 Marie August 20, 2007 at 6:09 pm

    I also have a can of artichoke hearts that I bought for some reason or other. I’m going to try it in this recipe. Interesting sounding combo.

  14. 15 Katerina August 21, 2007 at 1:26 am

    So, so good! I make something similar by adding in some soft goat cheese and then serving it warm… mmmmm.

  15. 16 Jenny August 21, 2007 at 7:47 am

    I had this last night and it was excellent. Thanks!

  16. 17 inadvertentgardener August 21, 2007 at 9:51 am

    Katerina, that version sounds excellent…

    Jenny, glad you enjoyed it! And thanks for providing a report — I love hearing that the recipes are working for other people. :-)

  17. 18 Simona August 31, 2007 at 10:37 pm

    I made it last night for dinner and it was a big success: thank you so much.

  18. 19 inadvertentgardener September 2, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    Simona, thanks for coming back and posting a report! I’m glad it worked out for you. :-)


  1. 1 VeggieBoards - Vegetarian Blog and Forum » Garden blogger recipes Trackback on August 20, 2007 at 9:33 am
  2. 2 What’s not happening « Seeded Trackback on August 21, 2007 at 7:46 am
  3. 3 Basil rice patties « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on August 31, 2007 at 6:06 am
  4. 4 WHB # 96 Rezepteliste « Neues aus der Kueche News from my kitchen Trackback on November 30, 2007 at 8:05 am

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!