First cherry tomato of 2007

A few days ago, I was out watering when I noticed a single, ripe tomato on the Mexican Midget plant. There are tons of green tomatoes all over the plant, clustered in groups of six to eight, but this tomato stood alone.

First cherry tomato of 2007

I didn’t want it to feel lonely, of course, so I did the only humane thing. I rinsed it off with the hose and popped it in my mouth. It was so delicious that I cannot even think of a single funny thing to say about it.

I hope to be able to do more of that activity very, very soon.

11 Responses to “First cherry tomato of 2007”


  1. 1 Heather July 9, 2007 at 8:26 am

    And there was a wealth of possibilities with “the tomato stands alone.” I’m jealous, but I think my first cherry tomato will be harvested/eaten tonight.

  2. 2 Lydia July 9, 2007 at 8:35 am

    That’s a beautiful sight, Genie!

  3. 3 Dirty Fingernails July 9, 2007 at 9:03 am

    So was it a sweet tomato? We love cherry tomatoes at this house.. My seven year old daughter would have them over every other veggie..

  4. 4 Christina July 9, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    Congratulations of the first cherry tomato of the summer! May you have loads and loads more!

  5. 5 Katiez July 9, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    When I walked to the garden this evening I picked and ate (without any rinsing…) a green plum, a little peach (only half ripe) 2 strawberries and a handful of bramble berries. Alas, I will not be picking and eating any tomatoes this year. Both lots got a fungus and died. One had a tiny little red tomato – like yours, that went from almost red to brown…. sigh…
    What’s summer without tomatoes?
    Hope you savored your bite – and many more to come!

  6. 6 Annie in Austin July 9, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    Only one tomato can be eaten on the spot… but if there were two would you have felt obliged to take them in to share?

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  7. 7 Cheryl July 9, 2007 at 5:29 pm

    That’s it; I’m jealous for sure! There’s something so special about the very first one (I’m talking ‘tomatoes’ here,folks!)

  8. 8 growthumbs July 9, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    Congrats on the first cherry tomato!

    I had ate a cherry tomato today as well. I was bad as I did not rinse it off. Just picked and popped it in the mouth.

  9. 9 inadvertentgardener July 9, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    Heather, were you able to harvest after all? That’s so exciting!

    Lydia, I thought so, too. :-)

    Dirty Fingernails, your daughter has great taste!

    Christina, thank you for the good wishes!

    Katiez, that sounds like an excellent garden feast, but I’m so bummed for you about the tomatoes…so harsh!

    Annie, now that I don’t have anyone on the spot to share them with, absolutely not! I would have eaten them both!

    Cheryl, I (ahem) totally agree with you. :-)

    Growthumbs, honestly, if I hadn’t had the hose in my hand, I probably wouldn’t have rinsed at all.

  10. 10 Heather July 10, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    I had to delay gratification by one day, but this evening the very first cherry tomato I have ever grown was carefully cut in half and my husband and I both declared it perfect!

  11. 11 Jeanne July 12, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    How beautiful!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!