Green Thumb Sunday: Picked on the Fourth of July

Fourth of July tomatoes

Gardeners, plant and nature lovers can join in Green Thumb Sunday every week. Visit As the Garden Grows for more information.

18 Responses to “Green Thumb Sunday: Picked on the Fourth of July”


  1. 1 Drew July 8, 2007 at 7:41 am

    They look delicious.

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener July 8, 2007 at 7:47 am

    Drew, they definitely were. I ate them this morning with just a little salt — yum!

  3. 3 farmingfriends July 8, 2007 at 8:10 am

    These tomatoes look delicious. A great recipe for tomatoes is cut them in half and put in an ovenproof dish. Cover with balsamic vinegar and sprinkle with brown sugar and cook in the oven for 30 to 40 mins. Delicious.
    Sara from farmingfriends

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener July 8, 2007 at 8:20 am

    Sara, that recipe sounds outstanding. Yum!

  5. 5 Michelle July 8, 2007 at 8:43 am

    Bravo!!! Fantastic, any special plans for those beauties?
    Or are they already gone?

  6. 6 steven July 8, 2007 at 9:49 am

    Sigh, nothing ripe on the tomato front here. I’d kill for a ripe tomato right about now since I have basil everywhere. Now I remember why I wanted to relocate to Georgia.

  7. 7 growthumbs July 8, 2007 at 10:09 am

    Yummo! We have no ripe ones here either. Hoping soon.

  8. 8 inadvertentgardener July 8, 2007 at 10:36 am

    Michelle, they’re already gone — I had them with breakfast this morning. :-)

    Steven, yeah…the number of green tomatoes I am currently sporting on my plants is such a tease!

    Growthumbs, I’m sending you good tomato-ripening thoughts!

  9. 9 Carol July 8, 2007 at 11:35 am

    No ripe tomatoes for me so far. I dreamed about them last night though, but when I ran out into the garden this morning, they were all still green. I started mine from seed.

    At least these didn’t have blossom end rot!

    Carol at May Dreams Gardens

  10. 10 Annie in Austin July 8, 2007 at 11:47 am

    July and tomatoes – you’re holding the essence of summer in your hand, Genie! Our tomatoes don’t look as pretty as yours do – the rain encouraged disease and insects, but some of them still taste fine.

    Have fun with the harvest!

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  11. 11 Christa July 8, 2007 at 12:32 pm

    Bravo, Genie! They look fantastic!

  12. 12 Kalyn July 8, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    Yes, we’re impressed. I did eat my first ripe cherry tomato here today. No more though.

  13. 14 chigiy July 8, 2007 at 5:03 pm

    Yum.
    my first few tomatoes usually never make it inside.

  14. 15 Ruth July 8, 2007 at 5:27 pm

    I love the smell of home grown tomatoes. Sara’s recipe sounds good. Happy GTS

  15. 16 Aiyana July 8, 2007 at 6:39 pm

    My tomato plants, which provided numerous tomatoes for several months, all succumbed to the to the Arizona heat over a month ago. Your photo makes my mouth water!

  16. 17 Jenny July 8, 2007 at 10:13 pm

    Ooh, I’m so jealous.

  17. 18 inadvertentgardener July 9, 2007 at 9:50 pm

    Carol, you’ll have the ripe ones soon, for sure!

    Annie, if I had to choose, I’d rather have good taste over beautiful. I’m glad you’re getting some flavorful tomatoes!

    Christa, thank you!

    Kalyn, there’ll be more soon, for sure…

    Growthumbs, you’re so welcome!

    Chigiy, I managed to get the big ones inside, but the cherry and pear tomatoes? They rarely make it early on.

    Ruth, I love the smell, too.

    Aiyana, sorry to tempt you by blog…but I’m so jealous that you already had a big ol’ harvest!

    Jenny, there’s going to be plenty to go around, for sure. :-)


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!