Not a member of the society of snow lovers

As I noted on Saturday, I did, in fact, make it to the garden fair. And, against many odds, located Prairie Robin as she and meandered in different directions through the central display area, which featured an awful lot of flower societies. There were societies of hosta lovers. Societies of lily lovers. Societies of people who love the trees and the black walnuts that fall out of them.

So, despite the odds, I did learn a few things about what to plant to attract butterflies and hummingbirds, and I learned a lot about bugs, and I met a new online friend in the real world, which is one of my very favorite things about blogging—I love it when the conversation skips off the web page and out into the real world.

I did not learn about The Kitchen Garden, and I missed the whole bulb session entirely, so I will be unable to school any of you in that particular facet of the event. But stay tuned in the next few weeks, because I will be providing thorough reporting on what I was in the vicinity to learn.

And I’m going to be honest here. I had designs to write more tonight, but as I rolled back into town on Sunday afternoon from an overnight away, the sky was just beginning to spit out some flurries, which turned into eight inches of snow that fell in five hours. Then, on Monday morning, we got hit with freezing rain and hail and lightning, all at the same time. Tonight? It’s back to snow, with six to 10 inches forecast for the overnight hours. And this, my fair readers, is causing me to go into paralysis when it comes to garden writing. I may deal with driving in the snow better than I used to, but that still doesn’t mean I’m ready to join the society of people who love the white stuff.

10 Responses to “Not a member of the society of snow lovers”


  1. 1 kate smudges February 5, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    I’m with you on not being a card-carrying member of the society of snow lovers. I really don’t like snow, but there isn’t much choice for those of us who live in snowbound states. Dealing with freezing rain is way too much on top of all the snow.

    One of these days, it will draw to an end. I was glad to hear that you did make it to the garden fair.

  2. 2 Jen-Ben February 6, 2008 at 7:52 am

    Reilly would be so jealous if he knew about all of that snow!

  3. 3 inadvertentgardener February 6, 2008 at 8:54 am

    Kate, actually, freezing rain is a little more my speed (even though I hate it) just because we used to get so much of it when I lived in Washington DC. But this stuff, this year? Nuts!

    Jen-Ben, at this point, if I dropped Reilly off the porch, he’d be in snow up to his waist. He would love it!

  4. 4 Curtis February 7, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    I am with Kate. I also dislike the freezing rain deeply. I am an all around un fan of cold weather period.

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener February 7, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Curtis, people tell me I would miss the four seasons if I moved somewhere tropical again. I do not think that is the case.

  6. 6 katie February 9, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    There really are people who like it—I know! Some of them are my family members… I never really understood the attraction, other than snow days when I was still in school.
    Now I’m going to be there for 2 weeks and I look at the forecast and all I see is ….. snow….

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener February 9, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    Katie, there is a more-than-certain beauty in snow days. Love that sense that the whole world has stopped and there is no choice but to ride it out. The problem comes when you have to ride around in the mess! I hope your trip back is not totally snowy — and I especially hope you don’t end up with any weather-related travel delays!

  8. 8 Annie in Austin February 9, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    Most of my life was spent near Chicago – sometimes I miss the snow down here in Texas, but not the driving!

    I’m so glad the invisible wall dissolved and you met the on-line friend for real, Gina – isn’t blogging wonderful!

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  9. 9 inadvertentgardener February 10, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    Annie, blogging is terrific — such a great way to connect with people!


  1. 1 Springtime in Washington « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on April 1, 2008 at 7:45 pm

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!