Comments that have fertilized the inadvertent garden

Over at ProBlogger this week, Darren Rowse is hosting a group blogging project focused on lists. I thought I’d take the opportunity to participate by looking back at a selection of ways commenters have helped me and Steve through our first season of gardening.

This is by no means a ranked or comprehensive selection–I’ve been amazed at the breadth and depth of the comments that have come my way through the blog, and these are just some of the highlights. Thanks to everyone who has helped out, and I hope you continue to offer advice–one of the coolest things about this garden blogging experience is watching people find their way to the site because they’re looking for answers about their own gardening problem. I might not be able to help them, but my commenters definitely have provided plenty of advice that did the trick!

Thanks to everyone who takes the time to stop by and share wisdom, or just a reaction to a post. I love participating in this ongoing conversation, and look forward to continuing it, even beyond the last harvest of the year!

7 Responses to “Comments that have fertilized the inadvertent garden”


  1. 1 MamaDuck August 17, 2006 at 11:47 am

    I love commenters. I made a list a few weeks ago of 13 of the sweetest comments I had received that week – I really love the ideas and sweet notes that I receive this way, it’s just a wonderful thing! Our list is up if you’d like to look… have a great day!

  2. 2 Carol August 17, 2006 at 4:56 pm

    Thanks for the thanks. I hope I also taught you something about hoes along the way.
    http://www.hoecollection.blogspot.com/2006/06/entire-hoe-collection.html

  3. 3 inadvertentgardener August 17, 2006 at 10:47 pm

    MamaDuck, thanks for sharing your link with me — good stuff! I’m enjoying your blog, and thank you for stopping by mine.

    Carol, your hoe collection is quite impressive! I’m hanging onto that link…wonderful!


  1. 1 82 More Lists - Group Writing Project Reader Submissions Part III Trackback on August 17, 2006 at 7:52 am
  2. 2 Lists Group Writing Project - Categorized Trackback on August 26, 2006 at 3:32 am
  3. 3 Michael Anuzis » Sharing Advice Trackback on August 26, 2006 at 10:40 am
  4. 4 Successful Blog - 301 Links in a Story — Chapter 7 Lizzie, Rue Dante, and Who Hal Is Trackback on September 15, 2006 at 8:13 pm

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!