Photography shouldn’t distract from weeding

On my way out to Oakland from Iowa, I made a stop in Grand Junction, Colorado, at my cousin’s house. She and her son Chase had planted their first vegetable garden in a beautiful raised bed off one side of the house. Tomatoes, squash, basil, oregano – the garden was still filled with seedlings when I got there, but had the promise of an amazing summer of production.

Chase gave me a tour of the garden before I headed out toward Salt Lake City, where I had a dinner planned with Kalyn of Kalyn’s Kitchen, and I started shooting pictures almost as soon as I got out there. Chase put up with my paparazzi-esque behavior while he weeded the garden, but only did so for so long.

“Genie,” he said, looking up at me with a pointed look. “You really could stop taking those pictures and start helping me with the weeding.”

Well, I did help. A bit. And just recently, I asked my cousin if Chase might be interested in giving my readers an update on how the garden is doing, now that the summer season is in high gear and veggies are popping out all over. As it turned out, he was interested, so stay tuned – on Wednesday, I’ll be turning the floor over to Chase, who is more than just an excellent gardener – he’s a fantastic kid!

10 Responses to “Photography shouldn’t distract from weeding”


  1. 1 Karen Ledebur August 12, 2008 at 6:48 am

    Genie you know I love things like weeding and cutting the grass like on Zelda speaking of which….when are you coming back to play some more?

  2. 2 Karen Ledebur August 12, 2008 at 6:48 am

    Okay Chase doesn’t have e-mail that was his message!

  3. 3 inadvertentgardener August 12, 2008 at 7:31 am

    Chase, I’d love to come back soon — I miss you guys!

    Kären, roger that!

  4. 4 Kate August 12, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    What a beautiful (and extremely tidy) little garden! Does Chase take weeding work by commission? lol

  5. 5 Kalyn August 12, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    How completely fun. I can’t wait to see Chase’s garden.

  6. 6 artificial grass July 17, 2009 at 12:58 am

    I must say he is truly amazing.There are few talented people with green thumbs and i absolutely salute them in growing plants.I love my garden and i’m having fun seeing the flowers bloom.

  7. 7 home wall art January 31, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    Hi Chase!Glad to see your garden here.What are your new plants this season?

  8. 8 John February 12, 2010 at 1:52 am

    Hi Chase! Thanks, very interesting note


  1. 1 Guest post: A garden out of control « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on August 13, 2008 at 5:35 am
  2. 2 Guest post: A garden out of control at The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on August 13, 2008 at 6:55 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!