The tomato bed

Tomatoes in the Victory Garden

Tomatoes in the Victory Garden

Bed 10A. That’s the location, on the official Victory Garden Map, of the tomato plants. During my first morning as a volunteer, I kept wandering over there, checking out the tiny yellow blossoms, eyeing the green tomatoes weighing down the branches, and admiring the basil and Italian parsley companion-planted throughout the bed.

Then I noticed suckers growing from the stem junctures on some of the tomato plants, and reached down to pick one. Even in the chilly mist, there was no mistaking the smell that wafted up. That green, tomato-plant smell that I love so much? Turns out it’s just as good even when the garden isn’t really yours and you aren’t even going to get to eat any of the tomatoes.

I’m already looking forward to Saturday, when I might just stand by Bed 10A for as much of the day as the Garden Educator on duty will let me. I don’t think I’m quite ready to talk to the plants, but I’m definitely going to be looking for suckers to pluck.

Heck. If no one’s looking, I might just have to hug one of the plants. Trust me. In that neighborhood? That kind of behavior wouldn’t even come close to making me stand out in the crowd.

7 Responses to “The tomato bed”


  1. 1 Zannie July 31, 2008 at 8:05 am

    In that neighborhood, that kind of behavior might get you held up as a shining paragon of sanity.

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener July 31, 2008 at 8:43 am

    Zannie, as long as I don’t stand there and yell things at the plants, you’re probably right.

  3. 3 Shibaguyz July 31, 2008 at 9:00 am

    We have plucked, pruned, preened, chatted with, yelled at, cussed out, mumbled to and gazed at our tomatoes… sometimes all in the same day. They are worthy of any and all communication options. And we are all the better for that communication. Don’t be shy about getting in there with the tomatoes and letting them know you’re there… they’ll thank you for it later.

    Way to go Victory Gardeners!!

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener July 31, 2008 at 11:07 am

    Shibaguyz, sounds like the days get busy in your tomato patch!

  5. 5 Eve August 2, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    I do organic, pesticide free, gardening. So I take a salt shaker with me to the garden and eat them right off the vine. There is just no comparison to a market tomato.

  6. 6 inadvertentgardener August 4, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    Eve, no, there’s not — but since I don’t have access to an actual garden this year, I have to make do as best I can.

  7. 7 Alan July 11, 2010 at 1:51 am

    There is no better way to garden than to grow your own Tomatoes.
    I just love it.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!