Going to BlogHer 2008?

Last summer, I lived a scant 4.5-hour drive from BlogHer 2007’s chosen location. I had all kinds of plans to be there for the conference, figuring that I could just steer my aging green Camry (and by green, I mean its color, not its environmental profile, at this point) toward Lakeshore Drive and have a blast with all kinds of fabulous women bloggers.

And then I realized what weekend it was. Thusly and therefore, I planned myself the most ridiculous travel weekend ever, which meant I got one solid day of BlogHering, followed by three hours of sleep, followed by continued crazy voyaging.

This year, when BlogHer announced it would return to the Bay Area for the third annual conference, I wrote it off. There was a point when I had an inkling I might move out here, but that was not a point at which I had any inkling I would be out here two months before the conference’s opening day.

Then I found myself a short BART ride away from the weekend’s activities. What’s a garden-oriented blogger to do but show up? This year, I’m in for all three days, including the Unconference on Sunday, July 20.

I'm attending the Home and Garden Meet-up. Are you?

I'm attending the Home and Garden Meet-up. Are you?

I float between life as a food blogger and life as a garden blogger, so I plan to be at the Food Bloggers’ Birds of a Feather meet-up on Friday, but will also attend Deb Roby’s Home and Garden BOF meet-up on Saturday. Deb’s going to interview bloggers at this event for a vodcast, so she’s looking for questions. Anything you’ve been dying to ask me but were afraid to comment about? Send it to Deb, and you never know what might end up on the Interwebs.

If you’re going to be at BlogHer 2008, please look for me. I love meeting other bloggers, and would love to get to know you better!

8 Responses to “Going to BlogHer 2008?”


  1. 1 Lydia (The Perfect Pantry) July 4, 2008 at 6:21 am

    Looking forward to meeting you (and any other food bloggers!) at the Food Bloggers’ Birds of a Feather on Friday morning.

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener July 4, 2008 at 8:11 am

    Lydia, I’m so psyched that I’ll finally get to meet you! Really looking forward to it.

  3. 3 Kalyn July 4, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Hooray. Be sure to read BlogHer on Sunday because there’s homework for the Food Blogger’s BoF session. (Don’t worry, it’e easy homework!)

  4. 4 Sara, Ms. Adventures in Italy July 4, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    See you at the BoF for Food bloggers! :)

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener July 5, 2008 at 8:31 am

    Kalyn, excellent — a little homework is good for us!

    Sara, I’m so glad I’ll be meeting you there!

  6. 6 ashleyv July 12, 2008 at 7:05 am

    Hi! I too waited what appears to be a day or two too late to register (and I LIVE in SF!!!) and they’re now sold out. I read your last post about being on the waitlist. I added my name but it seems hopeless.

    This is one of the reasons I moved to SF in the first place – I’m kicking myself so hard for letting it slip my mind! I am wracking my brain trying to dig my way out of this horrible oversight.

    How did you end up getting your conference pass? Any hints on how I could do the same? I’m so desperate I would actually show up the day of and just hang around to see if they have any no-shows! (The only bummer then is that I’d miss out on the newbie gathering on Thursday night, which I was really looking forward to.) :(

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener July 16, 2008 at 8:16 am

    Ashleyv, have you tried getting on the BlogHer site and seeing if anyone’s trying to sell their ticket? I know of at least one SF-area BlogHer who already sold hers, so I know there must be others. I got my pass the old-fashioned way — bought it about a month ago…


  1. 1 The dog can’t eat this homework « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on July 18, 2008 at 12:51 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!