A rabbit-y bon voyage

Things I’m learning: Moving? It gets in the way of blogging. I have dozens of stories to tell you, dear readers, and between packing, being on the move and stopping to visit friends along the way to California, there hasn’t been any time to actually sit down and write said stories. When I get to Oakland, I promise to shake out the backlog and get back on track.

In the meantime, though, I did make a trip in mid-May to find a place to live, which involved an oh-dark-thirty flight out of Cedar Rapids to Chicago on the way to San Francisco. I should explain that I almost never make those oh-dark-thirty flights on the proper amount of sleep. Inevitably, it’s suddenly midnight, and my alarm is set for 3 a.m., and I still haven’t packed, and I suddenly realize that I completely forgot to pay all my bills for the month or clean out the refrigerator or watch 25 to 28 videos on YouTube or whatever. In other words, I tend to fly with a sleep deficit.

And so it was on that Saturday morning, as I dragged my suitcase across the dark CID parking lot, I first attributed the shape that caught the corner of my eye to a lack of sleep. Then I looked closer.

The rabbit at the airportThere was a rabbit. Sitting right there on the hill leading up to the airport terminal.

I looked around to make sure no one was about to drive or walk around me, then dug out my camera. I took a few shots, registering a slight concern that I might end up arrested for some kind of strange behavior at an airport. But I wanted proof. Proof that I could review when I was more awake. Proof that an actual rabbit had shown up to see me off on my trip to California.

Thanks to Twitter, Carol at May Dreams Gardens and I exchanged a few early-morning messages before I got on the plane about the rabbit and its ability to eat everything. When I returned from California, lease in hand, I was relieved to see that, at least, the rabbit hadn’t eaten my car.

7 Responses to “A rabbit-y bon voyage”


  1. 1 Michelle May 23, 2008 at 6:29 am

    Genie . . . . we missss you! I can’t to see what happens in California. You better plant something missy!

  2. 2 Cinj May 23, 2008 at 8:36 am

    LOL! That would have to be one giant rabbit if it were going to eat your car.

    Nice to have “someone” see you off at the airport, isn’t it?

  3. 3 inadvertentgardener May 23, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Michelle, I’m definitely planning to plant something, but just haven’t figured out how/when…

    Cinj, it was definitely surreal, even though, yes, it’s always nice to have someone, even a bunny someone, see me off!

  4. 4 Aiyana May 24, 2008 at 1:54 am

    Just think of all the new plants you’ll be able to grow in your new environment! Good luck on the move.
    Aiyana

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener May 27, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    Aiyana, it’s amazing how much grows here — I can’t wait to get my hands in the dirt!

  6. 6 bloglily May 30, 2008 at 11:13 am

    You found an apartment! That’s so fabulous. (I know, I’m very late catching up….) I can’t wait to see what you grow. xoxox, Lily

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener June 3, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    Lily, I will most definitely be in touch — I owe you an email! This has all happened very, very quickly…


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!