Paparazzi in the kitchen

When I was in college, I had a lot of things at the top of my mind: what cheese-laden item would be most tasty at the dining hall at dinner, when I was going to leave campus to drive to visit my boyfriend (two hours away and he didn’t own a car—I definitely know how to pick ‘em), whether I was going to be able to get up in time for swim practice… Gardening? Not one of the things I spent a lot of time thinking about.

In fact, I didn’t even think that much about cooking. My college roommate can tell you a horrible story about my one experiment with Hamburger Helper, and I was often more interested in making a Waffle House run than actually cooking anything. I did whip up a mess of pancakes for a sudden and quite welcome influx of 9 midshipmen who drove down from the Naval Academy one weekend to visit me and my friends (I went to a women’s college, people. That weekend goes down in my mind as one of the miraculous ones that made college great…), but I think I used a big box of Bisquick to make that happen.

My own college experience meant I kind of chuckled when I got a call from The Daily Iowan, the independent newspaper at the University of Iowa, from Brian Stewart, a reporter interested in doing a story about me and the blog. College students? Interested in gardening? Alrighty, then.

The next step in the process was a photo shoot that, because of my schedule this week, had to take place Wednesday morning before I went to work. Ever-patient photographer Beth Skogen got out of bed at an ungodly hour to come to my house and shoot me (I’m sure, when her alarm went off, that took on a very different meaning…) making a frittata. Brittney Hibbs of DITV, the television arm of the news-gathering organization, decided to cover it, too, so there I was, in the kitchen, wielding a chopping knife under pressure of two cameras: one still, one motion.

That was worse than trying to pull off my first Thanksgiving, people. Much, much worse. Much more pressure.

Regardless, the story ran today, and it makes me sound fairly articulate, possibly because I sent a piece of frittata along with Beth to take back to Brian in the newsroom. (Note to the Journalism Ethics Police: I’m kidding about that last part. I’m sure Brian would have written a fabulous article with or without sustenance.) Anyway, if you’d like, check it out, although know that it might require (free) registration to read the article. If I get a link to the DITV story, I’ll post that, too.

(And hey…Alanna…that last quote in the article? I dedicate that one to you…)

UPDATE: If you go to the the box to the right of the story and click on “Play Today’s Newscast,” you can see the television version of the story. The segment’s right in the middle of the newscast, just after the weather and a story about some singers at West High in Iowa City. If you let the file load, you can navigate through the newscast with the slider bar. I’m not sure how long it will be available, so act now if you want to see me talking with my hands and wielding a big knife!

11 Responses to “Paparazzi in the kitchen”


  1. 1 Lydia (The Perfect Pantry) April 18, 2008 at 5:43 am

    Lovely article, Genie — and maybe those college kids will get inspired to become gardeners, too. Congratulations!

  2. 2 Jimmy Cracked-Corn April 18, 2008 at 8:13 am

    Congratulations on your additional fame!

  3. 3 Alanna April 18, 2008 at 10:21 am

    I’ve heard, um, Stranger Things before.

    Smilin’ all the way to ya!

  4. 4 Annie in Austin April 18, 2008 at 10:50 am

    The link worked without registration – it’s fun to see you in the Iowan, Genie!

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  5. 5 Diatryma April 18, 2008 at 11:55 am

    I actually found you just today from another random-google gardening site, and goodness, you too are in Iowa. So I grabbed a DI and read a bit. It may be rainy, but at least it’s not snow, right?

  6. 6 SusanV April 18, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    The article is great–but I really wanted to see the photos!

    I tried to imagine if someone told me that they’d be in my kitchen first thing in the morning to photograph me. I’d have been up all night cleaning! I really admire anyone who could take on being interviewed and photographed with such grace, especially at such an ungodly hour.

  7. 7 cole April 18, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    OMGosh. You’re like, famous and shit. WOW.
    xx

  8. 8 Kalyn April 18, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    Great article, way to go!

  9. 9 Heather's Garden April 19, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    I totally talk with my hands too. Even worse, I do it when I’m by myself talking to someone on the phone! Nice job being notable and stuff.

  10. 10 Susan April 20, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    I love how the video link says that you “admit” your readership has doubled and will grow another 40 percent this year – like it’s a big secret you were trying to hide. :-) Great job! Was there a big spike in hits?

  11. 11 inadvertentgardener April 20, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    Lydia, you never know — maybe it’ll have an impact.

    Jimmy Cracked-Corn, thanks so much!

    Alanna, thanks for being such an inspiration… :-)

    Annie in Austin, glad it worked for you!

    Diatryma, hello to a fellow Iowa resident! Yes, if we get any more snow, it’ll be a problem…seriously…

    SusanV, I just kept my fingers crossed that they wouldn’t take pictures of the floor, which is in desperate need of scrubbing. Yikes…

    Cole, I like to call myself a Minor Celebrity. ;-)

    Kalyn, thanks so much!

    Heather, I do it on the phone, too — all the time! Glad I’m not the only one…

    Susan, it was a big admission…of a BIG SECRET. Ahem, potential book agents and possible advertisers…please take note of said BIG SECRET. Kthx.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!