Spinach, reseeded

I did, after my extended stay at O’Hare, finally arrive home over the weekend. I’d been gone for 12 days on what felt like the longest business trip of my life, including stops in Oregon, Pennsylvania, Maryland and Virginia.

When I left Iowa, the snow had indeed begun to melt, but was still shoulder-high and causing trouble. I returned to a mostly snow-free landscape, although the disappearance of the white has left Iowa khaki-dreary—no blossoms, no green grass, no growth. This happens every year—there’s always a period of time between winter and spring (and by Garden messspring, I’m not talking about the post-equinox season, but the actual reappearance of color) when the landscape offers nothing to the eye other than wide swaths of blandness.

In my backyard, a small patch of snow survived in an area of the yard that’s shady most of the day. But the garden is, once again, uncovered, and what a mess it is, although it’s a mess that’s going to feed the garden nicely once the growing season starts up in earnest. Most of the bed is matted with leaves and decaying plants that I never pulled up before the snow brought any hope of that abruptly to an end, and I think I can probably just turn that stuff under so last year’s plants and leaves give this year’s plants a little bit of boost.

But on one end of the garden, garlic is already sprouting through the layer of mulch I put down when I planted it last fall, and when I crouched down to take a look, I noticed something particularly exciting. Baby spinach that I did not even have to plant!Not only is the garlic getting its grow on, but there are some baby spinach leaves coming up out of the ground.

I suspect my poor gardening practice of letting the spinach bolt and not dealing with it in a timely fashion has resulted in some inadvertent reseeding, and that means I’m all set up for fresh greens without any work on my part whatsoever.

Rock on.

14 Responses to “Spinach, reseeded”


  1. 1 Jenny March 25, 2008 at 7:22 am

    Rock on indeed. I think I’ll do that this year!

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener March 25, 2008 at 7:35 am

    Jenny, it’s certainly much easier than, you know, actually working at it. :-)

  3. 3 jeff-nhn March 25, 2008 at 9:20 am

    No fuss spinach…gotta love it!

  4. 4 Lydia (The Perfect Pantry) March 25, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    My garlic sprouted this week, too — and the chives. Maybe this summer I’ll have to plant some spinach and let it bolt!

  5. 5 wiseacre March 25, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    I’d rather keep my snow than see Spinach growing in my garden :)

    Q: What’s the difference between spinach and boogers?
    A: wiseacre doesn’t eat spinach

    We do grow spinach. I’m the only one who doesn’t like it but once in a while some slips between my lips when my wife makes my salad.

  6. 6 Kathy March 25, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    Margaret Roach, in A Way to Garden, claims to sow her spinach seeds in the hardened earth of late fall to get early sprouting spinach in very early spring (what we call mud season around here).

  7. 7 Heather's Garden March 25, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    I had a 12-day business trip once, but it was to Paris (and it was 15 days). Yeah, I hate me too. I’m kind of scared to go outside and document the carnage. Lucky for me the weatherman is calling for 3 days of rain so I can put it off for a little while more.

  8. 8 inadvertentgardener March 26, 2008 at 11:27 am

    Jeff-nhn, I do! I do!

    Wiseacre, sorry you are not a spinach lover, but at least you’re willing to grow it for your family — that’s quite big of you. :-)

    Kathy, that’s really interesting — I might try that next year…

    Heather, and not only can you put it off because of the rain, but the rain’s helpful, so you don’t even have to feel guilty!

  9. 9 Ramona March 29, 2008 at 11:14 am

    Leafy greens really keep me going during the cold weather months. Sometimes I just crave them even! Thanks for entering this into Weekend Herb Blogging.
    Cheers,
    Ramona

  10. 10 inadvertentgardener March 29, 2008 at 11:41 am

    Ramona, I definitely crave them, often. Thanks for hosting WHB this week!

  11. 11 nezza March 30, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    I’m so pleased to hear your snow has gone at last. Shoulder high… yikes! We all fall apart if we get at an inch over here in the UK….

  12. 12 inadvertentgardener March 30, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    Nezza, it was ridiculous! I know the UK can get awfully gray and dreary over the winter, but this was nuts…

  13. 13 nezza March 31, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    Are all your winters that snowy, or was this a bit of an exception? I’d be so depressed by the end of that.

  14. 14 inadvertentgardener March 31, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Nezza, this was a bit of an exception, but still, out of hand. And even when it’s not like this, there’s always the fact that it gets bitterly, bitterly cold here. I can barely stand it.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!