We. Survived. Winter.

Oregon CrocusesFirst. Day. Of. Spring.

Do you know what this means, people? It means we all survived winter. Finally. We survived it.

I’m considering planting something this weekend, just for the heck of it, even though it’s still too early in Iowa and there’s snow in the forecast for Saturday morning and later next week. Oh yes. Spring snow.

So be it. At this point, what harm is there in a little more of the white stuff? The season has changed, and winter did not beat me. That’s all, at this point, that I care about.

Oh, and no. That photo was taken recently, but was not taken in Iowa. You can tell this because there is no snow. Also there are flowers. These two conditions do not equal Iowa. They do, however, equal southwestern Oregon. More on that later.

12 Responses to “We. Survived. Winter.”


  1. 1 wiseacre March 20, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    I haven’t gotten out alive yet. The calendar might say spring but old man winter still has us by the throat.

    The good news is this year is going to be sweet. Maple sap is flowing and the boiling season is in full swing. And there’s plenty of ingredients to make Maple Syrup on Snow.

  2. 2 Sugar Creek Farm March 20, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    They’re calling for up to 12 inches of *ess* *en* *oh* *dubya* for us tonight & tomorrow. Can’t even bear to type the word. But a blizzard sounds like the perfect time to start seeds in the basement. That’s my plan for tomorrow!

  3. 3 chigiy March 20, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    I love those white crocuses.
    Those are crocuses, aren’t they?

  4. 4 nezza March 21, 2008 at 3:58 am

    I’m glad to see you’re still hanging in there. :) Those crocuses are really pretty. Mine are over now.

    Since it is a long public holiday weekend here in the UK, I have ordered a skip as I have lots of garden rubbish to put in. (old bricks etc.) So far today we have had rain, hail, snow, blue sky… Mainly it is very, very windy…. I’ve obviously picked a good weekend for it. I just wish the skip would hurry up and arrive. The sooner I can start, the sooner I can finish!

  5. 5 Carol, May Dreams Gardens March 21, 2008 at 5:02 am

    It feels good to survive winter, though you definitely got a lot mor snow in Iowa than we did in Indiana. We do have crocuses blooming now and the first day of spring was a beautiful, sunny, day.

  6. 6 inadvertentgardener March 21, 2008 at 5:57 am

    Wiseacre, kickin’ maple syrup is definitely a good by-product of a hard winter — glad to hear you’re going to get some!

    Kelli, you must be north of 20…my heart is breaking for you, my friend. I think Iowa City’s only calling for about an inch. Still…even an inch is unnecessary, in my opinion.

    Chigiy, they are, they are! At least…I think they are… :-)

    Nezza, sounds like a great way to use your time — I hope the skip arrives soon!

    Carol, it’s amazing how different the weather patterns are even when we’re not that far apart.

  7. 7 Sherry Peyton March 21, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    Wow, I hadn’t realized you were in Iowa. I’ll be listing you on my Iowa blog list! This winter has totally sucked. So glad that Spring is here at least in name!

  8. 8 PrairieRoin March 21, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    I visited the ISU Extension office on Wednesday and picked up everything they had on veggie gardens, my big project this year. I think I’m going to try “square foot gardening” which is supposed to be more efficient and productive.

    Good news though. I saw a couple tight little buds on my lilac stick in the front yard. (It’s a seedling I got from the Soil & Conservation people.) WoooHooo….maybe spring really is here!

  9. 9 Rebels Hope March 22, 2008 at 6:16 am

    Oh those are beautiful! It makes me want to cry- we got 12+ inch of snow again. Just when it was starting to look like spring!Thanks for the picture that shows it IS spring some where. . . the season still exists! This is hope. :)

  10. 10 inadvertentgardener March 22, 2008 at 7:30 am

    Sherry, it’s great to meet another Iowa blogger!

    PrairieRobin, I can’t wait to hear how your square-foot gardening goes — I’ve heard great things about that method but have never tried it myself. Congrats on those lilac buds — that’s terrific news…

    Rebels Hope, more than a foot of snow? That’s so depressing…

  11. 11 Jen March 22, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    I woke up to another five inches of snow this morning. I put grass seed down on Thursday. I’m so sorry you are stuck in the airport and I hope you get out soon. Take care

  12. 12 inadvertentgardener March 23, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Jen, I hope the snow doesn’t kill off your grass — maybe it’ll actually help insulate the seed a little?


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!