Support your local family farm, and meet the IG!

I know my readers come from far and come from wide. There are those of you who live in Eastern Iowa (particularly in the Cedar Rapids or Iowa City area), though, and I just know some of you were jealous of me when you read about my coolest-ever CSA farmer last year.

There’s no need to be jealous anymore, ’cause I have an opportunity for you.

A week from today, Local Foods Connection will be rocking the Robert E. Lee Community Recreation Center, at the corner of Gilbert and Burlington Streets in Iowa City, for their annual Community Supported Agricultural Fair. From noon to 4 p.m. on March 22, you can come meet local farmers and sign up for a CSA share.

What does that get you? Well, weekly fresh and local produce. Seasonal stuff. Those goodies that just aren’t the same when you buy them at your local, faceless grocery store. Plus, by purchasing a share, you’re guaranteeing income for farmers, which means they’re more likely to continue providing healthy, local produce, and continue being good stewards of the land.

If that’s not enough for you, you’ll be able to meet me! I helped organize the fair this year, and I’ll be there with some Inadvertent Gardener swag that you can take home with you.

Hope to see you out there!

10 Responses to “Support your local family farm, and meet the IG!”


  1. 1 Wendy March 15, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    Wahhh! I live in California. I sure would love to go though.
    Wendy

  2. 2 ourfriendben March 16, 2008 at 4:01 am

    Good for you, Genie! You deserve tons of kudos for helping to organize this. I’ve belonged to a fabulous organic CSA here in PA for the past two years–it’s Quiet Creek Farm for you PA residents–and it’s been one of the best things that’s ever happened to me. Not only do you get an abundance of wonderful fresh produce, but you get to trial all sorts of varieties you haven’t tasted yet, then plant your favorites in your own garden. And since you can rely on the CSA to produce stuff (like corn, melons, and pumpkins, in my case) that you love but don’t have room to grow yourself, you can focus on the things you want to grow while knowing that you’ll still get to enjoy the yummy veggies you don’t grow. Not to mention more of the delicious ones (‘Juliet’ tomatoes, yellow wax and ‘Dragon Tongue’ beans, basil) that you can’t get enough of even if you do grow your own. Can’t beat it!

  3. 3 Jen (aaron-n-jen.com) March 16, 2008 at 10:45 am

    Well hey, I volunteer for LFC. I’m hoping to be there. ;)

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener March 16, 2008 at 11:05 am

    Wendy, wish you could make it!

    Ourfriendben, thanks for giving the shout-out to your own CSA. I agree with you — even if you’re not in Iowa, I encourage everyone to check out CSAs in their area!

    Jen, definitely stop by and say hello — can’t wait to meet you!

  5. 5 Sally March 16, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    Only one problem – that’s the day before Easter…. guess I won’t be making any trips then. Good luck and have fun!

  6. 6 inadvertentgardener March 17, 2008 at 4:32 am

    Sally, that was one of the things we thought about when scheduling the fair, but then decided it was still the best day. We’ll miss you, but wish you could be there!

  7. 7 the mint killer March 17, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    and folks, maybe said-four-and-a-half-year-old of last year’s potting fame may show up as the IG’s swag girl if that’s not incentive to come by, I don’t know what is!

  8. 8 gillie March 19, 2008 at 3:59 am

    Wish I could be there but it’s a bit of a hike from the North of England! Have a brilliant day.

  9. 9 inadvertentgardener March 20, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    The Mint Killer, I’d love to have her as my assistant! She can have her very own piece o’ swag.

    Gillie, yes, a bit of a hike. Do you guys have CSAs near you?


  1. 1 Spring, delayed. « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on March 22, 2008 at 7:29 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!