Farewell, February

By my clock, I have just a little more than five hours left in this Iowa February. As should be clear from my ongoing whining, I will not miss it. Farewell, February, and don’t let the door of the snowplow hit you in the bazoom on the way out.

That being said, even with last night’s snow bombs falling outside my front door, and with my car getting stuck on a side street this morning, and with my boots starting to give way on that whole waterproof thing, I found myself hopeful on my drive home from work.

First of all, it’s light out when I go home. Actually light. As in, the sun didn’t set 15 minutes before the end of the work day. And the sunset light tonight was just about magic: casting a tangerine glow over the fresh snow from yesterday.

Second of all, it was warm enough today that a surprising amount of snow melted. In fact, even though the pile of snow in my front yard is still up to my shoulder, the very edge of the grass was visible by the time I got home.

Grass. Visible. Muddy grass, for sure, but grass nonetheless. Good riddance, February. I know March brings its own messy weather portfolio, but I’m ready to trade one for the other, particularly since it gets me that much closer to planting again.

9 Responses to “Farewell, February”


  1. 1 Carol, May Dreams Gardens February 29, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Yes, I’m with you. Bye Bye February, even though we did have a nice sunny day today. It’s really going to be light on the way home from work when we switch to daylight savings time on the 9th!

  2. 2 Curtis February 29, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Maybe we can get into spring when March comes in. It looks as though it will come in like a Lamb so we all know it will go out like a big bad Lion. Well at least it was warmer today.

  3. 3 jodi March 1, 2008 at 7:56 am

    I’m with you too. We’re so tired out of the weather tantrums here…but the second half of FARCH has decided to roar in like a crabby, underfed lion, and we’re to get all kinds of precipitation today. So I’ll stay inside, watch the snow/rain/sleet/locusts or whatever else comes down, and read and maybe bake. At least the clocks go ahead soon!

  4. 4 Michael March 1, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    I am hoping we’ll see the slow painful death of winter this month. Good riddance, however slow it may be. This winter has been beyond ridiculous.

  5. 5 PrairieRobin March 2, 2008 at 2:34 am

    It was almost balmy yesterday. Funny how 28 degrees in Iowa is warm enough to walk down the street with your coat unbuttoned, hatless, yet in DC we’d be wearing layers of clothes over long underwear!

    We’ve been gradually chipping away at the 4 inches of ice in our driveway, but also have to contend with ankle deep water because there’s no place for it to drain since the storm sewers are still blocked. I dread the thawing and the threat of floods.

    But, YEAH, it’s March 1st!! Spring should be happening any time…say, by June???

  6. 6 inadvertentgardener March 2, 2008 at 9:39 am

    Carol, I forgot DST starts so early — that’s excellent news!

    Curtis, it was warmer yesterday here, and supposed to be even warmer still today. I might have to go for an actual walk — the sun is shining, even though we had rain in the forecast.

    Jodi, I love that you call it FARCH! That’s hilarious…

    Michael, it’s totally ridiculous. And to be honest, I hope it’s not that slow of a death. Quick would be less painful.

    PrairieRobin, definitely — the thaw has the potential to create some serious problems. We’ll see how it goes. And yes…my perception of the temperature has completely changed since I moved here. Anything above freezing requires unbuttoning my coat!

  7. 7 steve March 2, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    here is another who was glad to see February gone , even on the last day it decided to dump another 3 inches of snow March has to be better doesn’t it

  8. 8 wackyweeder March 2, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    Isnt it just the most fabulous thing when the days start lenghtening! I always cheer up!

  9. 9 inadvertentgardener March 2, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Steve, one would think it would have to be better, and so far, it has been. However, we’re seeing another reversion to wintry weather overnight here in Iowa…ooh, yeah.

    Wackyweeder, the extra light makes a huge difference for me. A HUGE difference!


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!