Allergic to asking for help

I really hate asking for help, although you probably couldn’t tell it from this blog.

Or maybe you could tell it, because I’m forever running into trouble with my plants and only then, after I have a bunch o’commenters tell me what’s up, do I do the right thing. So why, then, do I have the conversation with myself about how I should most certainly ask my blog readers a plant question, particularly if I’m too lazy to look it up myself, and then decide to just forge on, helpless and, um, pretty darn inept?

I realize that if any of you could answer this question, you would probably also save me a lot of money in therapy bills. So there’s that.

Aloe, minus rootsRegardless, you have been heard on the aloe plant. No more water! In fact, no more soil, at least for the time being. On Tuesday night, in response to the immediate outpouring of comments on behalf of the beleaguered aloe plant, I removed it from the soil, discovered it had lost whatever roots it had left after I dumped it out in my frigid car, and then removed the mushy tentacles. (I know many of you call them leaves, but I’m still standing by my tentacle thing. I cannot help it, people. I cannot help it.)

When I announced the imminent death of my aloe, Heather recommended the whole 50 percent bleach solution, but I have not yet tried that. But at least I got the thing out of the moldy potting soil it was resting in. (Or, as grammarians would say, in which it was resting.)

And I will go pick up some cactus mix, per Trey’s suggestion, tomorrow night and repot the thing in something resembling a friendly medium. Because that’s how I roll. I am all about providing the friendly medium.

I am coming to grips with the fact that I may have killed the thing, but those of you who have posted stories of hope about aloe plants you have tried—and failed—to kill through the years are wonderful, charitable, kind people. Because you are helping me avoid writing off the plant entirely.

6 Responses to “Allergic to asking for help”


  1. 1 kate January 31, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    There’s hope for your Aloe … yes, definitely! Just make sure you cut off the dark goo before you treat. I’ve never tried the bleach solution but I will the next time I have this happen. I just chop off the decay and then leave the ‘tentacles’ out until the end dries out and pop it in some soil (with sand mixed in).

    Kate

    ps – I don’t like asking for help either, but sometimes we have to.

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener February 1, 2008 at 6:24 am

    Kate, excellent advice…on all fronts!

  3. 3 Curtis February 1, 2008 at 8:13 am

    There is always hope for something still green. Good luck with your aloe plant. Aloe always proves difficult for me to grow too.

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener February 1, 2008 at 8:53 am

    Curtis, I’m surprised how well the aloe is doing in, you know, just plain air. It’s a good sign, I think!

  5. 5 deb February 3, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Rather than bleach I would us hydrogen peroxide or just plain let it air out. Good luck

  6. 6 inadvertentgardener February 3, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    Deb, I’m trying the air-out method, in fact.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!