The power of a minority vote

The votes came in, and my registration has been filed for the 2008 Winter Garden Fair. And while this was a fair and democratic (albeit public) election, the fact is, democracy took a beating.

Here’s the thing: The votes came down heavy on the side of Starting Garden Transplants. In fact, 11 of you voted in that direction. “Seems right up your alley,” said Prairie Robin, a fellow D.C.-area transplant who I hope to run into along the way during the day of the Fair.

There were three votes for the Peonies class (and an interesting sideline discussion about peonies and whether or not they smell like processed meat), and a lone vote, from Aiyana of Water When Dry, for the Summer Bulbs class.

“Since you had bad luck last year, taking a class may improve your chances of getting a good crop this time,” Aiyana said.

A lot of folks voted for The Good, The Bad and The Buggly, but I think that was just a matter of a confusing ballot—I was, all along, planning to attend that during Session 3 of the conference. I mean, how can you resist a session titled like that?

But, as with national elections, sometimes the popular vote gets overridden by bureaucracy. I have been on the road so much lately that it impeded my ability to actually get on the stick and register. I registered too late to get into either the transplants OR peony class.

I did, however, manage to score the last available seat in the Summer Bulbs class, so I guess Aiyana has proved the power of a single vote.

If you’re out there reading this blog, and you plan to be at the event on February 2, be sure to let me know in the comments or by email. I’d love to meet you!

11 Responses to “The power of a minority vote”


  1. 1 katie January 26, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Whatever – it’s going to be wonderful just to be immersed in planting and gardening in the middle of the winter.
    I’m really not familiar with summer bulbs so I look forward to a recap and an education. Would that include gladiola? I love gladiola but, as is typical, have no clue!

  2. 2 kate smudges January 26, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Thanks for listening to us – Aiyana is a wise gardener and I’m glad that you took her advice. Let us know how it goes!!

  3. 3 Karen Ledebur January 26, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    Before you get to the class make sure to download the theme song from, “The Good The Bad And The Ugly” so that your cousin can call you and have your phone go off! (His idea not mine!)

  4. 4 Curtis January 27, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    Sorry, I didn’t get to vote in the class taking. Summer bulbs sounds like a good class. We will be longing to hear all about it.

  5. 5 Prairie Robin January 27, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    Hi Genie. Glad to see you finally made up your mind!

    I don’t have the flyer in front of me to get the proper names of the sessions, but in Session 1 I’ll be in Backyard Prairie (might as well learn about native plants); Session 2 is a garden design class; and Session 4 is Garden Photography.

    All in all, I can’t wait to talk gardening in February. This winter has seemed endless and I’m ready for some green and colors in my garden. White is so boring.

    Hope to see you there. maybe I’ll wear a goofy hat so you’ll recognize me.

  6. 6 inadvertentgardener January 29, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    Katie, I think you’re right. And I love glads, too, so I’ll keep an ear to the ground for info on those. I’ll keep you posted, for sure.

    Kate, yes, Aiyana definitely is wise! Thanks for offering up your input — it’s very appreciated.

    Kären, I’m not even sure how to download ringtones on my phone…I’ll have to investigate that! Tell my other cousin that he cracks me up. :-)

    Curtis, I’ll definitely report back in.

    Prairie Robin, thanks for the update on where I can find you — I really hope we can grab lunch together or something while we’re attending — I can’t wait to meet you!

  7. 7 prairierobin January 31, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    Genie – Shoot and email my way and maybe we can arrange to meet somewhere for lunch. It’d be fun to meet another DC transplant.

    Robin90536@yahoo.com

  8. 8 inadvertentgardener January 31, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    Robin, an email’s coming your way…

  9. 9 Aiyana February 3, 2008 at 2:02 am

    I’ glad to see you decided on the Summer Bulb class. I’ve found that after I have a failure, either taking a class or talking to an expert gets me on the right track. I hope it works for you!
    Aiyana

  10. 10 inadvertentgardener February 3, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    Aiyana, as it turns out, the snow kept me from making it to that session at all! So frustrating…


  1. 1 Never according to plan « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on February 2, 2008 at 9:48 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!