Eight inches

It is one thing to empty your compost pail into your compost bin during most of the year, when getting to that bin requires a quick jaunt across the yard, a small frolic through the grass, a moment to stare at the sky, whether it is a starry night or a sunny day, and then return to the house, untroubled and green-garbage-free.

It is quite another thing when you have to trudge through eight inches of snow. How do I know there were eight inches out back when I made the trip? Because that’s how high my boots come up on my leg. And they got snow in them. Snow that came over the tops of my boots after said boots sank down into said snow.

And it ain’t hardly begun…

17 Responses to “Eight inches”


  1. 1 Dori January 3, 2008 at 7:05 am

    I know what you feel like 45 minutes away. We have some ice under that snow making our backyard a treacherous walk. Happy New Year to you.

  2. 2 Lydia January 3, 2008 at 8:20 am

    Oh yes, I can relate to this. The compost pile is behind a lovely stone wall, all the way across the front yard from the house. Between here and there are a few inches of snow, now topped by just enough ice that whenever you put your foot down, you crash through the ice to the snow below. And then, of course, when you get to the compost pile, everything is frozen, so you’re just dumping on top of the frozen stuff. No wonder we have so much wildlife here — they’re coming to graze at our “restaurant”!

  3. 3 Sarah January 3, 2008 at 9:04 am

    Maybe it’s time for a Bokashi bucket?

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener January 3, 2008 at 10:37 am

    Dori, the ice under the snow is criminal!

    Lydia, yes — the issue of it all being frozen is interesting to me…how is it possibly processing if it’s frozen?

    Sarah, I’m going to go ahead and admit my ignorance…what’s a Bokashi bucket?

  5. 5 Kelly January 3, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    My wife and I dealt with a similar experience last year. Last month, in anticipation of winter, we erected a new bin closer to the house.

  6. 6 NC Heather January 3, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Hmmmm. Is central North Carolina sounding more and more appealing to you? Enjoy the caucus – I expect a full report!

  7. 7 wayne January 3, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    If it is frozen it ain’t doing a whole lot, but it will because if our hopes for spring come forth…..

    12 degrees this morning and supposed to hit 50 this weekend here in PA.

  8. 8 kate smudges January 3, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    Happy New Year! I know the feeling, although there isn’t quite so deep snow here. It’s the cold that gets to me, plus the ice as I skid my way down the path and wish that I’d put the compost pile closer to the house.

  9. 9 Heather January 3, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Yeah, we had to keep a full compost pail in the freezer until it thawed enough out there to pull the lid off the compost can. We had a good 3 inches of solid ice on top of the can for a few weeks. We also lost our gazebo, but I still haven’t been able to bring myself to go out back, photograph it, and post about it. Mostly because it’s either been 45 degrees and raining or 10 degrees and overcast. Though I feel guilty complaining about our relatively mild winter weather compared to your 8 inches of snow!

  10. 10 Ginni January 4, 2008 at 10:37 am

    It’s really deep here too, but I think I’m only about 45 minutes from you. This has been a really tough winter and winter is only 13 days old!! We can keep hoping for spring!

    Ginni

    P.S. I tried your roasted cauliflower! AWESOME!!! Andy even ate some and loved it ( he has professed many times that he “hates cauliflower”!!!)

  11. 11 cole January 4, 2008 at 11:00 am

    Snow sucks.

    ick.

    PS….do any of you gardeny peeps know why my frozen cauliflower got all grody and orange and smelled terrible and tasted spoiled when we steamed it? It turned orange (was white variety to begin..) in the freezer and I did not think much of it because how could something spoil in the freezer? hmmmmm. curious and disappointing because we had frozen many CSA treats this fall to savor this winter. sigh.

  12. 12 The Forge Village Farmer January 4, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Send some of that snow down to us! It’s been depressingly dry in New Mexico thus far this winter… :(

  13. 13 inadvertentgardener January 5, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    Kelly, hmm…a bin closer to the house. Suddenly that’s sounding way more appealing.

    NC Heather, full report is now officially up! :-)

    Wayne, 50 this weekend? That seems, somehow, wrong. Enjoy the spell of balminess!

    Kate, I’m not a big fan of cold, either. Happy New Year to you, too!

    Heather, I’m so sorry about the gazebo. Sad! I’ll watch for the post.

    Ginni, it has been a tough winter, for sure. Glad you guys loved the cauliflower — I thought you might!

    Cole, I don’t know much, but I do know that if the white cauliflower turns orange in the freezer, that cannot be good.

    Forge Village Farmer, I would love to…I wonder if UPS would deliver some of the snow from my front yard to you?

  14. 14 Robin (Bumblebee) January 5, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    I HATE going into the cold to empty my compost bucket. When I’m very, very lazy, I just put it outside the door until I muster up the courage. Or even better–send my 16-year-old son out to do it!

    –Robin (Bumblebee)

  15. 15 inadvertentgardener January 5, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    Robin, I haven’t quite gotten to the point where I’m just setting it outside the door yet…but I’ve thought about it!

  16. 16 Curtis January 6, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    Oh time to invest in some snow shoes that don’t sink in the snow. :)

  17. 17 inadvertentgardener January 6, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Curtis, you know…I’ve actually thought about buying a pair of snowshoes — not just for the benefits of getting to the compost bin!


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!