Glimmer of hope

2008 Seed Savers Exchange CatalogOn one day last week, I came home and had the 2008 Seed Savers Catalog waiting in the mail. I know it’s a long time until actual planting season, but the catalog itself is just a little glimmer of hope.

A glimmer of hope I needed to keep in front of me, because the very next day, my garden turned into a sea of white, and has remained in such a state ever since.

We’ve been fighting icy conditions around here for days, Snowy back yardand while I know there’s a break in the weather coming up shortly, I’m finding it easier to cope if I spend at least a little time every day flipping through the catalog pages and imagining what I could put in if my garden was at least eight to ten sizes bigger than it is.

Oh, tomatoes. Oh, lovely lettuces. Oh, watermelons that look like a starry night sky. A warm starry night sky. When you can wear shorts. Shorts, that is, without a pair of long johns and then a pair of jeans on top of them.

10 Responses to “Glimmer of hope”


  1. 1 Ginni December 11, 2007 at 5:27 pm

    That scene looks all too familiar. I’m off work today because of the ice storm that is going thru here closed down all the local schools. So far we still have power, but that’s a moment to moment thing!

    I did get a new Park Seed catalog in the mail yesterday and I’m saving it to go thru if the power goes off. It will bring my mind back to spring and summer and all those lovely flowers and veggies.

    Winter would be much harder to bear without my seed and rose catalogs!

    Ginni

  2. 2 Melinda December 12, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    I came home from a couple of weeks of traveling to a couple of catalogs myself (including the Seed Savers Catalog!). Sure is nice to ponder what to plant in a few months! I find myself reading them before bed, and circling all the things I want to plant…

  3. 3 Heather December 12, 2007 at 6:15 pm

    I’m glad I haven’t found this addiction yet (notice I said “yet”). I’m a big time list maker and I could just see myself spending hours typing up pages of what I want to plant. But your winters are a lot longer and harder than ours, so you need more distraction.

  4. 4 Lydia December 12, 2007 at 7:59 pm

    Reading seed catalogs and planning the garden is one of the best things about winter. It really does make the cold months pass more quickly. Happy garden planning!

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener December 13, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    Ginni, did you start going through that catalog yet? What are you picking out?

    Melinda, if I started circling everything I wanted to plant…well, let’s just say I should just circle the catalog.

    Heather, yes…more distraction is required!

    Lydia, thanks — I definitely think my eye for seeds is bigger than my garden could possibly hold, but it’s so fun to think about all the possibilities.

  6. 6 Michelle December 24, 2007 at 7:45 am

    Are you kidding me? That means mine is probably at home right now! And I’m stuck in Iowa for the holidays!

    Dernit!

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener December 26, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    Michelle, that just gives you something to look forward to when you get home!

  8. 8 Michelle December 27, 2007 at 6:10 pm

    Sadly, no dice. The Burpee Catelog came though!

  9. 9 inadvertentgardener December 27, 2007 at 9:11 pm

    Michelle, that’s not cool! I mean, Burpee’s good and, all, but Seed Savers it ain’t. I’d offer to mail you my copy…but I’m not ready to give it up!


  1. 1 Seed order: unplaced « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on February 13, 2008 at 9:16 pm

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!