Green Thumb Sunday: Mum blossoms

Mum blossoms

Gardeners, plant and nature lovers can join in Green Thumb Sunday every week. Visit As the Garden Grows for more information.

12 Responses to “Green Thumb Sunday: Mum blossoms”


  1. 1 Aiyana November 25, 2007 at 4:00 pm

    Nice photo. Are the mums just blooming?
    Happy GTS,
    Aiyana

  2. 2 ahurst615 November 25, 2007 at 6:01 pm

    Great macro shot! I killed my mums this year… we didn’t have rain for nearly 2 months and I was too lazy to water. Oh well! Now I get new ones next year!

  3. 4 Sarah November 26, 2007 at 12:30 am

    Awesome picture – I love mums.
    Happy GTS!
    ~Sarah

  4. 5 Chigiy November 26, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    Nice photo.
    Are the mums in a pot or in your garden?

  5. 6 Vero November 26, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    Is you mum blooming only now? this make a nice touch of color in the garden then!

  6. 7 sharon millar November 26, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    Great photo. I love the whole macro feel. We don’t grow too many Mums in Trinidad because is to hot and humid for them. They do okay for a while but are very short lived. I am so accustomed to seeing yellow ones it’s lovely to see the pink.

  7. 8 inadvertentgardener November 27, 2007 at 10:59 pm

    Aiyana, when I took this, some were just blooming, others were getting a little past their prime.

    ahurst615, I killed my mums through lack of watering. Ridiculously enough, I still haven’t taken down and cleaned up the hanging pot…sheesh! Dead mums, hanging in front of my house…

    OldRoses, thank you so much!

    Sarah, happy GTS to you, too!

    Chigiy, they were in a pot at Hollabaugh’s Orchard, which I wrote about earlier this month.

    Vero, I took this photo back in October, so I doubt they’re still blooming. It’s getting a little cold here for mums!

    Sharon, you have plenty of other amazing flowers in Trinidad, though — I wouldn’t miss the mums for a second!

  8. 9 kate smudges November 29, 2007 at 1:26 am

    That is a beautiful photograph … it makes me want to have some mums around!

  9. 10 inadvertentgardener December 2, 2007 at 3:16 pm

    Kate, thanks so much! Glad you enjoyed it.

  10. 11 farmingfriends December 2, 2007 at 3:54 pm

    These are beautiful. I like the colour and the fact that they are all at different stages of opening. Sara from farmingfriends

  11. 12 inadvertentgardener December 2, 2007 at 4:40 pm

    Thanks, Sara! I loved the color, too.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!