Getting close to your food

As those of you who read this blog often know, I am a huge fan of the macro lens. Get close, get detailed, get intimate with one’s vegetables, herbs and flowers.

Besides, shooting the garden that way eliminates any chance that those of you out in the world will ever know the true state of my gloriously messy, not-very-contained garden plot.

I have not yet stepped out the back door carrying a microscope. After seeing what the folks at Wired came up with after examining Thanksgiving dinner through one of them there instruments, though, I’m intrigued. Maybe it’s time for me to get all microscopic on my plants?

Have a happy Thanksgiving, American gardeners. To my Canadian friends, you may have beaten us to the punch on picking a date, but for that, you get to spend tomorrow working while we have a vacation day. Ha. And to the rest of the world, well, I’m grateful you stop by for a read or two, and I wish you a wonderful day, as well.

See you on the flip side of the turkey, folks.

4 Responses to “Getting close to your food”


  1. 1 Lydia November 22, 2007 at 12:13 am

    Happy Thanksgiving, Genie!

  2. 2 wayne November 22, 2007 at 6:55 am

    do it! I put a couple of dissecting microscopes in my class the other day and let the students take a new look at plants….. very very cool.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. 3 Christina November 22, 2007 at 1:09 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving to you too!

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener November 22, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    Lydia, Wayne and Christina, thanks for the Thanksgiving wishes! Hope you guys are having a wonderful day of feasting.

    Wayne, that does sound cool — I used to love using a microscope…maybe I should revisit that…


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!