Green Thumb Sunday: Small squash

Tiny squash

Gardeners, plant and nature lovers can join in Green Thumb Sunday every week. Visit As the Garden Grows for more information.

17 Responses to “Green Thumb Sunday: Small squash”


  1. 1 ruth October 28, 2007 at 10:20 am

    They do look quite tiny…are they edible or only decorative? Happy GTS :o)

  2. 2 barbara October 28, 2007 at 11:56 am

    I love these tiny squash, but admit I like to sit them around the house to bring a little autumn inside.

  3. 3 Aiyana October 28, 2007 at 12:55 pm

    These are the kind of squash we use in decorations. Are they edible? They are always advertised as decorative, so I’ve never tried to eat them. Happy GTS,
    Aiyana

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener October 28, 2007 at 5:43 pm

    Ruth and Aiyana, they are Carnival Squash, which are, in fact, edible, although I don’t think I’ve ever tried them.

    Barbara, have you ever eaten them? I agree — they’d make a lovely decoration.

  5. 5 Chigiy October 28, 2007 at 9:14 pm

    Genie,
    How do we know these are small squash?
    There is no reference such as a dime or a thimble.
    For all we know these could be giant, colossal squash.
    We may have to start another contest.

  6. 6 GardenMomma (Chris) October 29, 2007 at 1:27 am

    These are the cutest things! Happy GTS! Chris

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener October 29, 2007 at 5:08 am

    Chigiy, you’re right…perhaps a contest is in order? I’ll have to talk to Carol about that…

    Chris, aren’t they? Happy GTS to you, too!

  8. 8 marcia October 29, 2007 at 5:23 am

    wow odd and interesting

  9. 10 Muum October 29, 2007 at 7:06 am

    Carnival Squash? I have a mysterious volunteer that I’ll have to take pics of, it looks a lot like your squash, and I am trying to figure out what it is.

  10. 11 inadvertentgardener October 29, 2007 at 12:11 pm

    Muum, perhaps that’s what it is — aren’t volunteers fun?

  11. 12 farmingfriends October 29, 2007 at 3:47 pm

    What a lot of lovely looking squash.
    Sara from farmingfriends

  12. 13 Christina October 29, 2007 at 10:55 pm

    Did you grow them or buy them? Have you tried growing winter squash? I’d like to grow some next summer and am looking for advice. That shot is lovely!

  13. 14 inadvertentgardener October 30, 2007 at 8:36 am

    Sara, thank you, and thanks for stopping by!

    Christina, I haven’t tried to grow them, but I’m thinking about it for next year — they’re so tasty!

  14. 15 Annie in Austin November 2, 2007 at 6:25 pm

    I took your word for it, Genie, but then read Chigiy’s comment and she’s right! They could be big old things instead of the perfect miniatures they seem. Whatever size they are, I wouldn’t mind a dozen or so on my table.

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  15. 16 barbara November 3, 2007 at 10:56 am

    I’ve never eaten the tiny squash, tried one once and it was hard and bitter. But I love the bigger ones – a staple of my fall/winter table.

  16. 17 inadvertentgardener November 3, 2007 at 8:08 pm

    Annie, it’s true — they weren’t really so much miniatures, as small. Sort of like miniature dogs versus toy dogs. Hey…sometimes a loss of perspective is a good thing!

    Barbara, did you try one of this variety of squash? Or a different kind?


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!