Greens and yellow pizza

Weekend Herb Blogging 2nd Anniversary logoI have an admission: I love pizza in all its forms. I love it when it’s gourmet and brick-ovened and topped with choice ingredients. I love it when it’s out of a box, taken from the freezer, and baked on the rack of the oven (DO NOT BAKE THE CARDBOARD DISC.). I love it delivered, I love it on homemade crust. I even love the bad frozen French bread pizza. I love making English muffin pizzas and pita pizzas and…well…you get the point.

But, thus far this year, I had not actually made pizza with ingredients from my garden. I’m not really sure how I overlooked this. Perhaps I was afraid to heat up the kitchen any more than it already was? Or maybe I was just that busy this year.

When we had a near-frost in mid-September, I harvested a ton of unripe, kind of ripe, nearly ripe and fully ripe yellow pear tomatoes, and those were still hanging out on my counter, the green ones slowly working their way toward yellow. I still have basil growing out there, and now there’s some arugula in the mix.

I will stop here just to recommend homemade crust over store-bought. I mean, that’s a pretty obvious statement, because isn’t everything homemade better than what you can buy? That being said, I haven’t actually made homemade crust in a long, long time. Not since I had a breadmaker, which I didn’t actually like to use to make bread, but which facilitated a wicked herbed pizza dough. I got rid of the breadmaker when I moved to Iowa, which, every time I make pizza, I regret just a little bit.

Uncooked pizza topped with greensBut I digress.

I built this particular pizza on a store-bought crust, which I brushed with olive oil before adding the toppings. There’s no tomato sauce on this, but I figured the tomatoes themselves would do the trick, and they did. This particular mix, in fact, does the trick. Olive oil, green and yellow tomatoes, some kosher salt and freshly ground pepper for crunch and flavor, and a topping of roasted arugula and basil and fresh mozzarella. A little sweet, a little bitter, a little salty, a little tangy, and a powerful hit of basil-y goodness.

I love pizza in all its forms, yes. But when it’s topped with my very own garden fresh ingredients? Then I adore it.

Greens and yellow pizzaGreens and yellow pizza
(Serves 1)

One 6- or 8-inch prepared pizza crust
1 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
8 to 10 mixed ripe and unripe pear tomatoes
1/4 cup torn arugula leaves
1/4 cup torn basil leaves
1/2 c. fresh mozzarella, cut into uniform chunks

  1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F.
  2. Halve the tomatoes. Put the pizza crust on a pizza stone or cookie sheet, brush the crust with the olive oil, arrange the tomato halves evenly on the surface of the crust, and put the pizza in the oven.
  3. Once the pizza is in, turn down the temperature to 425 degrees F. I have no idea what this does, but I’m sure it’s highly technical and chemical and trust me, it makes the pizza crispy and crusty and tasty.
  4. Bake the pizza for 5 to 7 minutes, then take it out. Add the greens and top them with the cheese, and return the pizza to the oven.
  5. Bake for another 5 to 7 minutes, or until the greens look a little crispy and the cheese is melted.
  6. Remove, slice and eat.

This is my contribution to the second anniversary of Weekend Herb Blogging, an event that I stumbled upon not that long after I started blogging. I’m thrilled to have been a part of it for as long as I have, and I’m so grateful to Kalyn for keeping it alive for two years, which, I daresay, is about a lifetime and a half on the Interwebs. So here’s to you, Kalyn. What’s pizza without a good Chianti? I toast you, my friend. Congratulations on this anniversary.

7 Responses to “Greens and yellow pizza”


  1. 1 Kalyn October 13, 2007 at 8:36 am

    Thanks for the toast! I wish I could have a piece of this pizza to go with it. It does sound wonderful. Making homemade pizza crust is one of my resolutions for 2007 which I haven’t done yet. I need to get on it. Love the way the tomatoes cook and make their own sauce here, yum. Thanks for helping celebrate the two years!

  2. 2 Katiez October 13, 2007 at 11:35 am

    I haven’t used sauce on my pizza in years – always fresh tomatoes and basil and then whatever else is of interest. Love the idea of the green tomatoes and arugula. Fall is pizza making time for me….
    Great recipe!

  3. 3 Joyce October 13, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    that looks great, I love pizza a lot, too, all kinds except maybe airport pizza.

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener October 14, 2007 at 7:19 am

    Kalyn, I’m going to join in your resolution. There’s no reason for me not to just make the homemade dough — I know from watching people do it that it’s so easy, and it’s particularly easy to make enough to freeze for later use, too. OK…adding that to the list…

    Katiez, Fall is a really good time to make pizza, I think. Thanks for stopping by!

    Joyce, you know, I would tend to agree with you, but it’s possible to acquire some really quite tasty pizza at O’Hare. I mean, it’s not high-quality pizza, but it’s tasty and cheesy and…well…let’s just say that I have indulged a number of times.

  5. 5 kate October 16, 2007 at 1:21 am

    However do you get your food photographs to look so good? I want to devour your pizza even if it is after midnight and I should be getting to sleep. Yum is all I can say!

  6. 6 inadvertentgardener October 16, 2007 at 5:59 am

    Kate, awww…that’s so sweet! I just try to use as much natural light as possible, and use as many tips as I’ve managed to glean from my many favorite photographers. Glad the photo made you hungry! :-)


  1. 1 Pesto: the cure for what ails me « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on February 9, 2008 at 3:48 pm

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!