Flower salad

I’m a big fan of restaurant dining. Plate it up, kitchen, and dot that sauce around the rim.

I’ve been known to plate a meal or two at my own house, for sure, but I have to admit…I’ve never served myself up a flower salad. That always seemed a little too, I don’t know, high-brow? Or maybe I was just afraid I’d eat the wrong flower.

But this year’s nasturtium crop in my garden has totally exploded. Every day I go out and there are at least two or three more blossoms and probably a dozen or 20 new leaves. It’s craziness.

Flower saladSo I took my commenters’ advice, and came home and fixed myself a salad tonight. Ingredients: lettuce and a variety of other greens, just cut from the garden; a few stuffed grape leaves from the local Co-op; some crumbly Mexican cheese; nasturtium leaves and a single, lovely orange nasturtium. I topped it with a blackberry-ginger-sage balsamic vinaigrette (Have no fear…that recipe’s coming soon…) and served it up with a side of red wine.

Flower salad, direct from my back yard to my stomach. And it’s so much less hassle than making a reservation. I’m going to have to do that again soon, before the nasturtiums give it up for the season.

15 Responses to “Flower salad”


  1. 1 Chigiy October 11, 2007 at 1:28 am

    That sounds very yummy.
    Enjoy.

  2. 2 Lydia October 11, 2007 at 4:44 am

    Hooray, Genie! I love the little peppery bite from nasturtiums, and the blossoms are so beautiful. Your salad with blackberry vinaigrette sounds perfect.

  3. 3 Me October 11, 2007 at 6:05 am

    It does seem a little high brow! ;) I bet it was absolutely delicious.

  4. 4 Robin (Bumblebee) October 11, 2007 at 7:54 am

    Yum!!! At my house the guys would just pick out the flowers and think I was crazy. Good idea, although I always forget. All those johnny-jump-ups that sprout freely around the yard may find a nice home in my sala bowl next spring. I hear they are peppery.

    –Robin (Bumblebee)

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener October 11, 2007 at 8:36 am

    Chigiy, it was quite tasty!

    Lydia, you were my inspiration! I have to admit, I felt a little silly clipping the nasturtium leaves, but they were beautiful in the salad! Now I know…and will use them much more often.

    Me, it was delicious…made me feel all hoity-toity in my own house.

    Robin, ooh, I didn’t know you could eat the Johnny-Jump-Ups, too. Cool!

  6. 6 wayne October 11, 2007 at 5:26 pm

    how cool for you. looks very good. reminded me of a time that we were to decorate a student as Rudolph at my school, so being the horticulture guy, we but some tree branches on the top of a student’s head and put a nasturtium (growing in the greenhouse) on his nose. figured he could eat it if he got hungry. and not be poisoned.

    edible flower of this summer were tiny marigolds that had a citrus flavor.

  7. 7 anniebetty October 11, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    Genie, you can eat Johnnie Jump Ups and any other kind of Viola … even Pansies. And you know those native orange daylillies that grow all over the sides of the roads in Pennsylvania? Yummy. Very yummy.

  8. 8 inadvertentgardener October 12, 2007 at 6:22 am

    Wayne, I like it! How’d you affix the nasturtium? Sounds like that’s much more precarious than, say, the clown’s nose version of the Rudolph get-up.

    AB, really? The daylilies? Really?

  9. 9 Katiez October 12, 2007 at 8:59 am

    It’s definitely a very pretty salad – and so late in the season!

  10. 10 inadvertentgardener October 12, 2007 at 10:28 am

    Katiez, yeah — it does seem awfully late to still be yanking flowers out of the garden…but I’ll take it!

  11. 11 anniebetty October 12, 2007 at 6:47 pm

    Oh, yeah. Too bad you’re not coming to Bethlehem in June. I’d force you to eat one just for kicks. They are also a bit peppery, but not so much so as the nasturtiums.

  12. 12 inadvertentgardener October 12, 2007 at 10:30 pm

    AB, you never know…I may very well get there in June, in which case I will make the demand for flower salad!

  13. 13 wayne October 17, 2007 at 5:18 am

    I was trying to remember the same thing when I wrote the post. I do remember that it was precarious and that we did not win the contest… next time super glue!!!!

  14. 14 inadvertentgardener October 17, 2007 at 5:22 am

    Wayne, you’re too funny. Yes — Super Glue will do the trick every time!


  1. 1 Blackberry-ginger-sage vinaigrette « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on October 27, 2007 at 6:21 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!