Today’s seasonal shift

What I’m about to say may make me the biggest hypocrite in Iowa, but I’m going to say it anyway: I’m ready for a little cold weather.

No, I’m not interested in snow or ice or sleet or frost or shoveling or sanding or salting or adding chemicals to the sidewalk or whatever the rest of it entails, but after days and days of sweating in my house during unnatural heat, I’ve had just about enough.

Today, finally, relief seemed to be in sight, but last night? Last night I gave in, for the second night in a row, and turned on the window unit air conditioner in my room. In October. That doesn’t make one bit of sense.

Worse than that, because I’m a doommonger and naysayer when it comes to the weather, I’m certain that we’re going to get paid back and then some for this current run of sunny, hot days. We’ve cheated Fall, so I’m guessing we’re going to head right smack into winter a little early, and it will stick around extra-long just to piss me off.

Greens in the sunI had friends over for dinner last night, and temperatures meant I was out yesterday afternoon in shorts and a t-shirt and flip-flops, cutting lettuce and herbs for the meal. The lettuce was filthy, so before I even brought everything into the house, I took it over to the hose for a little pre-wash action. As the water hit the colander of green goodness, I smelled the sage already releasing some of its oils, and watched the dirt run down the sidewalk. The water sprayed my feet, cooling them off as if it were still August.

Yeah, I’m sick of the heat, but for at least that moment, I felt a brief pang of regret—I suspected it might be the last time this season that it’s comfortable enough to be spraying my bare feet with water and to be washing vegetables outside in the sun. Sure enough, by tonight, I had to put on a sweatshirt. Judging by the 10-day forecast, I can quit complaining about the heat, starting right now.

13 Responses to “Today’s seasonal shift”


  1. 1 Chigiy October 9, 2007 at 1:03 am

    We’re blessed with great weather here in California but every once in a while I’ve been known to complain. Like you I try not to complain because I’m afraid that if I do even worse weather will come along.
    Enjoy the warmth. I hope that you get a wonderful fall soon that lasts for a while.

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener October 9, 2007 at 8:22 am

    Chigiy, you guys definitely are blessed with some incredible weather — it’s one of my favorite things about Cali. Things felt crisp out there this morning, finally — perhaps Fall really is finally here! (And maybe it’ll stick around…)

  3. 3 LindaK18 October 9, 2007 at 8:44 am

    I can feel that cool water hitting your feet! I am looking forward to hearing you describe the cool crisp mornings of autumn. Enjoy that wonderful smell of summer while you can and be careful what you wish for – ya never know just what is around that corner! LOL

  4. 4 Wayne October 9, 2007 at 11:07 am

    hit 89 in philly yesterday so the planned roasted eggplant pasta dish got put off for a butter bean salad loaded with parsley and tomatoes from the garden. anyway, it was a record temp, but like you, my days of sweltering appear to be over soon. hoping for rain today… none in three weeks.

    keep warm.

  5. 5 Don October 9, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    My Mother was one of those people who apparently thought the universe was some kind of giant, sometimes malevolent leveling machine; when we had warm weather in the fall, she’d always say “You wait and see… it always evens out, and we’ll pay for it this winter”… and she was usually right. It wasn’t until years later that I figured out that there was some science there; when cold air is trapped in the north by a strong circumpolar jet stream, we have unusually warm weather; eventually the barometric pressure at the pole becomes so high, that it bows the jet stream down over our heads, and we get a blast of really frigid air that has built up… so you just wait!

  6. 6 Jen-Ben October 10, 2007 at 7:06 am

    I drove by the bank yesterday and the sign said the temperature was 94 degrees. This is certainly not how I remember fall when I was a kid. While I wish it was 10-15 degrees cooler, I’ll take 94 over freezing any day.

  7. 7 Robin (Bumblebee) October 10, 2007 at 8:43 am

    I am with you on needing some real fall weather. Except for the extra tomato bonus, I am sick of the heat. Up to 90 degrees the last few days. This is October?

    I saw on the news last night that good parts of the southeast, where we are already experiencing a drought, is expected to have a warmer and dryer than normal winter too. I hope that up here in MD we dodge that bullet.

    –Robin (Bumblebee)

  8. 8 inadvertentgardener October 10, 2007 at 10:30 pm

    LindaK, you’re definitely right about being careful what I wish for…

    Wayne, I don’t know…that butterbean salad sounds mighty tasty!

    Don, I’m waiting…and watching the forecast…

    Jen-Ben, yes, I would definitely go for 94 over freezing, if only I had better access to a/c…

    Robin, I hope you dodge the bullet, too. And I hope you get a break in the weather soon!

  9. 9 Matron October 12, 2007 at 2:05 pm

    I was just thinking the same thing today, here in England! I was reading about so many of our vegetables and especially fruit which really do need a sustained period of cold weather in order to set fruit the following year. Not too cold, nor too slushy, and not for too long, but just enough please to let me grow great fruit next year!

  10. 10 inadvertentgardener October 12, 2007 at 10:30 pm

    Matron, yes — I’m rooting for you to get great fruit next year, too. This weather has been screwy!

  11. 11 Curtis October 15, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    Getting more like fall here. I personally am not ready for the cold weather.

  12. 12 inadvertentgardener October 16, 2007 at 6:02 am

    Curtis, well, I never really am ready for the cold, but I do worry about what the heat’s going to do to the plants. We’ll see, though…and I’m sure to be really complaining come January or February…


  1. 1 Unmatched bookends « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on October 19, 2007 at 7:34 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!