Green Thumb Sunday: Late season pepper flower

 

Late season pepper flower

Gardeners, plant and nature lovers can join in Green Thumb Sunday every week. Visit As the Garden Grows for more information.

10 Responses to “Green Thumb Sunday: Late season pepper flower”


  1. 1 Michelle September 30, 2007 at 11:27 am

    Once again we are on the same page. I’ve got my late season tomato blooms up. Maybe we’ll be having tomatoes in November! You can stuff peppers for thanksgiving!

  2. 2 farmingfriends September 30, 2007 at 11:38 am

    This pepper flower is very attractive and interesting. Sara from farmingfriends

  3. 3 Aiyana September 30, 2007 at 12:39 pm

    Very pretty flower. Happy GTS,
    Aiyana

  4. 4 TopVeg September 30, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    Another incredible flower. Your photo shows all the detail. Thanks
    TopVeg

  5. 5 Moe September 30, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    Gorgeous! I’m hoping I’ll get some late-season tomatoes!

  6. 6 nikkipolani September 30, 2007 at 10:21 pm

    The flowers are pretty enough to be reason to grow peppers!

  7. 7 cole October 1, 2007 at 6:45 am

    Can you eat the flowers? If so, what do they taste like? Can you eat all the flowers of an edile veg/fruit?

    xx

  8. 8 Chigiy October 1, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    Do you think it will turn into a pepper?
    Or is it too cold?

  9. 9 inadvertentgardener October 1, 2007 at 12:38 pm

    Michelle, I love the optimism! I share it…but realism is drawing me back. Maybe that’s just becuase it’s cold and rainy today.

    Sara, thank you! I was glad to see it, although I wish it had shown up earlier in the season…

    Aiyana, pepper flowers might be my favorite veggie flowers in the garden. They’re just lovely.

    TopVeg, thanks so much!

    Moe, I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you.

    Nikkipolani, I totally agree. I had decided to yank the pepper plant, but just because of this flower, I’m glad I didn’t.

    Cole, I haven’t tried tasting one of these…I’m sure they wouldn’t kill me, but I don’t know if they’d be tasty or not?

    Chigiy, I’m guessing it’s too cold. There are no frosts in the 10-day forecast right now, but the night temps are down in the 50s and high 40s…I doubt that’s warm enough for pepper production.


  1. 1 Getting close to your food « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on November 23, 2007 at 9:13 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!