Better choices next year

I don’t like the way these mums look from down here.As I sat on my porch yesterday afternoon, blogging and enjoying the quite excellent Indian summer weather we’re appreciating here in Iowa, I looked up at the hanging basket.

Trey was totally right in his comments about my hanging basket choices. Mums are a very, very stupid choice for hanging baskets. Not only do you mostly only see the stems, but you can’t easily get up there to deadhead the stupid plant.

Thank goodness for the Blue Haze Evolvolus, which saves the day by being pretty and drapey and interesting to look at. And now that I have it facing the front yard, there’s at least some minor redemption.

Trey, I promise. Next year, I’ll email you before I go to the garden center.

7 Responses to “Better choices next year”


  1. 1 trey September 24, 2007 at 9:50 am

    It wasn’t a stupid choice, just the right plant in the wrong place, or the wrong plant in the right place. Of course you could always hang it by a longer chain so you would be looking down at it. Then when people come over you could give it a little push and show them your “swinging mum” ;-)

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener September 24, 2007 at 10:49 am

    Trey, I do like the idea of a swinging mum…and now I’m probably going to get all kinds of Google search results that I don’t want… ;-)

  3. 3 anniebetty September 24, 2007 at 11:51 am

    And there’s always the fact that your hook turned out to be so versatile. You could, um, take the plant down, dead-head the thing, and hang it right back up there.

    What a concept. :-)

  4. 4 Wayne September 24, 2007 at 12:52 pm

    What Longwood Gardens does with hanging mums blew my mind last year, and I am not a fan of mums. They had them coming out of the basket in every which direction so they had hanging monster balls of mums.

  5. 5 Katiez September 24, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    I love mums, but, hmmm, not in baskets. We have petunia baskets that are still doing great, though. Try those next year!

  6. 6 Carol September 24, 2007 at 7:11 pm

    At least it isn’t a white plastic hanging basket which would be hideous to look at from below, regardless of what you put in it.

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener September 25, 2007 at 8:26 am

    AB, you’re always thinking…Don’t you understand? The hook STAYS WHERE IT IS.

    Wayne, that sounds pretty amazing. The Longwood Gardens people? They’re pretty crazy with the flowers…

    Katiez, I might try those — I really like petunias.

    Carol, you’re so right — I’m not a fan of those…


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!