Green Thumb Sunday: Magnolia, turning

Magnolia, turning

Gardeners, plant and nature lovers can join in Green Thumb Sunday every week. Visit As the Garden Grows for more information.

16 Responses to “Green Thumb Sunday: Magnolia, turning”


  1. 1 kate September 23, 2007 at 10:24 am

    Ah, autumn leaves … my garden is covered in fallen yellow leaves… now I’m looking forward to spring again!

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener September 23, 2007 at 12:59 pm

    Kate, yes…I hate to not live in the moment and appreciate the seasons as they come, but as beautiful as Fall is, it is a harbinger of winter for me. I hate that…

  3. 3 Heather September 23, 2007 at 1:09 pm

    Thanks for the big downer. Thank goodness the trees around me aren’t changing yet. I like the fall weather, but I’m not looking forward to putting my first garden to bed.

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener September 23, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    Heather, our trees here started changing a couple of weeks ago, which I have been in denial about for awhile, obviously. Putting the garden to bed is definitely sad…I’m not pleased about putting my second one to bed, either!

  5. 5 Aiyana September 23, 2007 at 1:35 pm

    I didn’t know Magnolia was deciduous! I learn something new every GTS. Great photo.
    Aiyana

  6. 6 Chigiy September 23, 2007 at 2:18 pm

    Time to get out the rake and the pumpkins.
    My kids are bugging me to make pumkin pie.
    More cooking less gardening.

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener September 23, 2007 at 2:19 pm

    Aiyana, I wonder if there are different magnolia varieties that aren’t? This one is, for sure. It’s sad…soon its leaves will be all over the yard…

    Chigiy, that’s hilarious — I was just in the kitchen thinking about how I will have so much more time to cook when I’m not gardening. :-) Great minds…

  8. 8 TopVeg September 23, 2007 at 3:39 pm

    Another sign of autumn! Magnolia is a magnificent shrub!

  9. 9 farmingfriends September 23, 2007 at 4:21 pm

    I love the magnolia and I love it when we get different coloured leaves.
    Sara from farmingfriends

  10. 10 inadvertentgardener September 23, 2007 at 7:56 pm

    TopVeg, it’s a beautiful tree. And yes, definitely another sign that the season has officially changed…

    Sara, glad you love the magnolia, too!

  11. 11 anniebetty September 23, 2007 at 8:01 pm

    Yes. There are different magnolia varieties. That picture looks like a magnolia cuminata (sp?), which is also called a cucumber magnolia. It does loose its leaves. It’s a lot different than the ones in the south, which have shinier leaves, which they don’t loose (I don’t think they do anyway …)

    End of lesson. :-)

  12. 12 inadvertentgardener September 23, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    AB, you are the best at helping me with plant IDs! I love it — thank you for tonight’s installment. :-)

  13. 13 galeria September 24, 2007 at 6:48 am

    autumn is here and i hope I can enjoy cleaning.

    have a great week!

  14. 14 inadvertentgardener September 24, 2007 at 10:47 am

    Galeria, I never enjoy cleaning…just enjoy it when it stops! :-) Have a great week, too.

  15. 15 nikkipolani September 25, 2007 at 1:26 pm

    Is this the magnolia that surprised you with some blooms earlier? Cool shot – almost as if the color were changing as you watched.

  16. 16 inadvertentgardener September 25, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    Nikkipolani, that’s the same magnolia — and yes, it definitely looks like it’s turning colors as I stood there. Luckily that was not the case. That would depress me. (I mean, it would depress me after I said the big wow.)


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!