Eight random things

Down at the southern tip of Florida, where they have to grow tomatoes in the spring and the fall because the summer is so freaking hot, my cousin Katherine started a blog this year: GFCF Mommy. GFCF stands for Gluten-Free, Casein-Free, a dietary lifestyle her family has adopted to help meet the nutritional needs of her adorable son.

Katherine picked me as one of the four people tagged for the Eight Random Things meme, and since she tagged me at the end of August, she probably has been thinking I’d forgotten completely about it. But I hadn’t–was just finding the appropriate time to fit it in!

I know I swore in July that I would not do any more memes, but family is family, and I am a big fan of my cousin’s blog. Even if you’re not trying to live a gluten-free, casein-free lifestyle, it’s worth it to check out her interesting recipes and stories. So…in honor of Katherine, I return to the well for eight more random facts about me!

  1. I just walked in the door from my first-ever Ani DiFranco concert. Can anyone explain to me why it took me 34 years to get to an Ani DiFranco concert? Can anyone explain to me why I had only heard of—not heard—Melissa Ferrick, who opened for Ani? These women rocked my face off.
  2. I have never been to Asia, but I really want to go. I have, however, been to every country in Western Europe. (You’ll have to cut me some slack on the Eastern Europe bit…I lived in Europe before the Wall came down, so travel was, shall we say, impaired.)
  3. I have an incorrigible Diet Coke habit, which became even more horribly apparent while I was driving around northern Pennsylvania and Central New York in July. For miles, no gas station, no grocery stores had Diet Coke. And trust me: I asked everywhere we stopped.
  4. Barring weather disaster, I will attend more college football games between September 1 and November 1 than I have attended the entire rest of my life. And I am loving every minute of it.
  5. I get nervous every time I pull up to a barbeque joint in Iowa. It’s not that I think it’s going to be bad barbeque, it’s just that I know it’s not going to quite cut it. This has nothing to do with not relishing my time in Iowa, but it does have everything to do with recognizing regional specialties, of which Iowa has many others.
  6. When I was in college, my advisor asked me to play tennis with her because her regular doubles partner had gotten sick. I had developed a pretty killer serve in high school, and delivered one, right into the middle of her back. Luckily, she never let that affect her grading when it came to my papers…
  7. I still own one of my very first cookbooks, Peter Rabbit’s Natural Foods Cookbook, written by Arnold Dobbin and illustrated by Beatrix Potter, which my great-aunt and great-uncle gave to me for Christmas in 1977. The most ingredient-splattered recipe in the book is Samuel Whiskers’ Roly-Poly Pancakes, which, to this day, tastes like childhood to me.
  8. I not only have a tomato plant growing out of the stump in my yard, but I just found one growing out of a crack in the sidewalk. I’m thinking about buying a bunch of seeds next year and just planting them in utterly random places, just to see what happens.

So…that’s eight things about me. I’m going to break the rules and choose not to pass this particular meme any further, but I do want to encourage you to participate in the comments. What random things are you ready to share?

19 Responses to “Eight random things”


  1. 1 Me September 19, 2007 at 6:25 am

    Cool. My daughter has the Peter Rabbit’s Natural Foods Cookbook I bought it at a thrift store for her because it is so cool. :)

  2. 2 anniebetty September 19, 2007 at 6:57 am

    Well. All I have to say is that you might have called your friend AB in northern (sort of) Pennsylvania, and she might have delivered to you an ice cold Diet Coke. I have a friend in Wisconsin (my oldest friend … 41 years and counting!), who would probably disintegrate if it weren’t for the Diet Coke she pumps into her body every day. I am well accustomed to providing this Diet Coke as a necessary part of any outing …

  3. 3 Michelle September 19, 2007 at 7:19 am

    You go to the football games eh? As in the Hawkeye games? Because you know, those hawks can get pretty viscious! IF you don’t believe me as my Mother-in-Law!

  4. 4 Katherine September 19, 2007 at 7:55 am

    Ah, shucks, thank you for such kind words! You made my day! And thank you too for indulging me on the meme. But see, I knew you would have such interesting things to say!

    My favorite is #7 about the Peter Rabbit’s Natural Foods Cookbook. I’ll have to check that out and see if I can GFCF-version it!

    I am also glad that things seem to be going well for you lately and that you are truly “relishing your time” now!

    Love and hugs,
    Katherine

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener September 19, 2007 at 9:48 am

    Me, I’m glad I’m not the only one enjoying that cookbook — there’s definitely good stuff in there!

    AB, by the time we were missing the Diet Coke, I think we were past where you are, and I was so surprised not to be able to find it anywhere that I really showed up unprepared. I mean…who’d have thought?

    Michelle, it’s mostly Hawkeye games, but there’s potentially a little bit of Gettysburg College and definitely one NC State game in there just to mix things up a little…

    Katherine, thanks for asking me! I’d love to see if you could GFCF some of the recipes — I wonder if there’s a way to “fix” the pancakes…they’re so delicious!

  6. 6 nikkipolani September 19, 2007 at 10:45 am

    Great list! Where in Asia would you like to visit first?

  7. 7 onlyconnect September 19, 2007 at 11:21 am

    Love love love Ani DiFranco! She can really rock! She wrote this great letter to Ms. magazine a long time ago that has always impressed me, if you’re curious.

    And kudos on your fabulous tomato luck!

  8. 8 inadvertentgardener September 19, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    Nikkipolani, it’s hard to say…I’m thinking Thailand, maybe? But I’d love to get to Japan, too, and I have always wanted to visit China and Malaysia and Indonesia…it’s too hard to choose!

    Onlyconnect, the link to the letter isn’t working at the moment, but I’ll definitely check it out — she’s amazing, and I bet her letter is excellent.

  9. 9 Heather September 19, 2007 at 2:34 pm

    Random thing – I have been to Asia. Hong Kong and Beijing. Oh my God the food, I still dream about the food. I want you to go and blog about the food. And send me back some food. Seriously dim sum in Hong Kong and these amazing pork dumplings in Beijing often show up in my dreams.

    I just read Julia Child’s My Life in France and all I can think about is this incredible poached egg dish I had in Paris. Do you think people from other countries return home from trips to the U.S. and tell their friends about a dish they had here? And what would that dish be?

    Okay, I’m hungry.

  10. 10 inadvertentgardener September 19, 2007 at 2:46 pm

    Heather, see, that’s part of why I want to go to Asia. Tourist sites? Whatever. I want some street food! I don’t know about other people, but apparently you and I are one and the same — when I come back from trips, most of what I talk about is the food!

  11. 11 Don September 19, 2007 at 3:00 pm

    You are being too kind about BBQ in Iowa… a lot of the trouble is there are so few “joints”. The ribs at Hickory House in Waterloo are the best I’ve had in Iowa, and at least the place has some history, but even it’s not a joint in the good sense of the word.

  12. 12 Wayne September 19, 2007 at 3:02 pm

    last fall the culinary guy walked in my class and said, come look at this. there was a tomato growing between the sidewalk and the asphalt. He made me “save it” I gave no hope for the thing and ven when it flowered late in winter, I thought no fruit will come. the when a tomato strtaing forming, I thought it won’t do much. well it got bigger and turned a beautiful shade of red.

    I saw Ani D 14 years ago, haven’t listened to her for a few years. maybe I’ll pull something out of the archives.

  13. 13 Emma September 19, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    LOL -so freaking hot. yes indeedy. some weird cold front has moved in tho and can you believe I actually contemplated a JACKET? I mean the temp must have dropped to 70. Brrrr…. much lower and I’ll have to dig out the sweaters.

    The tomato seems happy about the cooler weather though. I’ll be able to get the lettuce and spinach out of the house and into the garden soon! woo hoo!

    I love your cousin’s blog. I agreed that Jon Stewart is cute and the ipod is the best invention EVER. ;-)

  14. 14 Chigiy September 19, 2007 at 11:59 pm

    Did you know that this really cool, smart, writer chick with her own gardening/food blog called The Inadvertent Gardener saved my blog yesterday?

    Also, I have a tomato growing in between some field stones which line my patio and now it threatening to grow over my BBQ and part of my flower garden on the other side. How come the tomatoes you get from the nursery don’t do that?

  15. 15 inadvertentgardener September 20, 2007 at 9:44 am

    Don, I’m glad you think I’m being too kind…tee hee…I was trying to be, you know, diplomatic…

    Wayne, that’s amazing about that tomato — very cool! And yes…do pull out some old Ani. I highly recommend it.

    Emma, I’m so glad you’re enjoying Katherine’s blog! And I had to chuckle…I totally understand what you mean about throwing on a jacket at 70 degrees — I used to live in Nigeria, and on the rare occasions when the temps would drop down to 70, we’d break out the jeans and sweatshirts!

    Chigiy, awww, shucks…I’m shuffling my feet and looking down at them. I’m always glad to help out. As for the nursery tomatoes — maybe they beat them into submission so they don’t rebel?

  16. 16 bright September 21, 2007 at 9:58 pm

    i know i must not be alone when i say, you must share the recipe for the roly poly pancakes. pretty please? i’ve got to find my first cookbook… best blueberry pancakes ever!
    http://www.amazon.com/Old-Black-Witch-Wende-Devlin/dp/0027291855

  17. 17 inadvertentgardener September 22, 2007 at 12:11 am

    Bright, that looks like a wonderful book and a terrific pancake recipe! I will have to see what I can do about providing the Roly Poly Pancakes…perhaps I’ll make that into a project for later in the season…

  18. 18 NC Heather September 24, 2007 at 11:06 am

    We can’t wait for you to come down for a game (that last weekend in October still looking good for you?), but I have to tell you, the Pack is painful to watch this year. We can no officially call it a “growing year”.

    The game on Oct. 27th against UVA could be one of our very few chances at a win. And, still just a chance. But, the tailgating is always good….

  19. 19 inadvertentgardener September 25, 2007 at 8:28 am

    NC Heather, growing year or not, I’m still excited about the tailgating part of the operation. And hey…if I can help deliver a win for the Pack, all the better. It’s all about me and my Wolfie earrings, of course! ;-)


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!