Stumped, but not giving up

So. The tomato in the stump? It’s blooming.

Stump blossom

I still haven’t done anything to it–no fertilizer, no water–and am just watching it and seeing where it goes. It’s not likely to last much longer, the season being what it is, and I have no idea what kind of tomato plant it is, because, well, I didn’t plant it. So I don’t know if it’s one of the big varieties, or a smaller, faster-growing variety.

But I can’t help but cheer for the thing. I mean, flowers? On a tomato from a stump? I’m a little bit jealous of whoever or whatever planted it. I kind of want the credit for genius, but this time, I really can’t take it.

8 Responses to “Stumped, but not giving up”


  1. 1 Me September 12, 2007 at 3:38 pm

    I really love the perspective of this photo – what a persistent plant.

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener September 12, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    Me, thanks so much! It is persistent…we’ll see how it goes. It’s been chilly here — I doubt it will persist too much longer.

  3. 3 danielle September 13, 2007 at 7:31 am

    come on little stump! you can do it!
    (keep us updated)

  4. 4 Chigiy September 13, 2007 at 12:40 pm

    I think you should take the credit. After all if it wasn’t for you and your garden the stumpy tomato would be alive.

  5. 5 cschwartz September 13, 2007 at 1:42 pm

    Well, now you know what happened to the tomato you dropped from your shopping bag last year. ;)

  6. 6 cole September 13, 2007 at 8:44 pm

    That is such a pretty picture sweetie. Too bad all the other tomatoes will mock him because he lives in a stump. They will shout, “Hey stumpy, you live in a stump…” all his “friends” pots glowing in the late summer sun knowing he wasn’t planned. Just a bastard really. Poor stumpy tomato.
    xx

  7. 7 jenjen September 13, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    Have you considered trying to save the plant as long as possible? You could make it a cage and cover it with plastic to keep it warm and maybe cheat out another ripe tomato. Hey it could happen.

  8. 8 inadvertentgardener September 14, 2007 at 7:25 am

    Danielle, I definitely will keep you updated!

    Chigiy, good point…

    Cschwartz, also a good point!

    Cole, yeah…if the other tomato plants bust on stumpy tomato, I might just have to take ’em out.

    Jenjen, I hadn’t thought about that, but it’s an interesting proposition. I wonder how crazy my neighbors would think I was at that point?


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!