Bean reprieve

I’m still grasping firmly to summer as if it will never go away, but the fact of the matter is the seasons are changing. It’s a lot more comfortable to hang out in my apartment than it was a month ago, and there’s a tree on my street that persists in changing its leaves to yellow. Football season is underway (Go Hawkeyes!) and there’s actually a night this week where the temperatures are forecast to get down to 34 degrees.

In the garden, I’m trying to make a bunch of educated decisions, but I have a hard time ruthlessly ripping up plants. It just seems unfair not to give them another chance. And another. And another. Usually it requires full-on, total plant death to prod me to actually make a final call. I guess I just like to let the plants decide instead of me.

Bean flowersI had, however, decided to rip up the bean plants. They’re all raggedy and chewed-upon, some by bugs, some by animals, and while I did get at least two lovely harvests off them, and still occasionally get a bean or two to snack on, I had pretty much decided they were done.

And then I went out expressly to yank them, and found several plants with bean flowers on them. Now, logically, I know that there is no way these bean plants are going to make it from flower to bean before it starts to get too cold for them. But I have a soft spot in my heart for plants that are still flowering, and therefore, I caved.

The bean plants get to stay. For now. But if the flowers drop off or disappear, that’s it for the season.

12 Responses to “Bean reprieve”


  1. 1 steven September 11, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    Don’t be too hasty there. I’ve planted Kentucky Wonder beans in late August and picked beans almost to Thanksgiving. Last year I was picking the last of them in a snow fall.

  2. 2 Libby September 11, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    I’m ready to be ruthless with what I have left. How quickly I tire of something… I’m ready to start planning my raised beds and plantings for next year. I should really stop and enjoy what’s left of this season first.

  3. 3 inadvertentgardener September 11, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    Steven, I’m not relishing picking things in snowfalls, but I’ll do it, if need be…

    Libby, yeah, I’m not quite ready to dump the season yet!

  4. 4 Michelle September 11, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    I think your beans have been talking to my tomatoes!

  5. 5 Chigiy September 11, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    You remind me of me. I don’t pull out or throw out plants as often as I should.

  6. 6 Heather September 11, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    Of all the veggies that I’ve been growing this year, I think that the beans are the quickest from bloom to harvest. But maybe that’s because there are so many blooms I don’t seem to notice the beans until they’re almost too big! I know, nice problem to have.

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener September 12, 2007 at 6:17 am

    Michelle, are your tomatoes blooming again?

    Chigiy, it’s hard to make the call, isn’t it?

    Heather, that’s definitely a nice problem to have!

  8. 8 Wayne September 12, 2007 at 11:31 am

    good luck with the green beans.. I have had students refuse to pull them out of the ground. I am amazed by my cucumbers. I don’t remember plants being productive into September????

  9. 9 inadvertentgardener September 12, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    Wayne, you still have cukes? That’s amazing!

  10. 10 jenjen September 13, 2007 at 9:18 pm

    I was heartbroken a couple weeks ago. I went to mow off my cantaloupe vines since I couldnt find anymore cantaloupes. I mowed over 2 nearly ripe melons! arggh. And this is the first year I have ever managed to grow melons.

  11. 11 inadvertentgardener September 14, 2007 at 7:26 am

    Jenjen, oh no! That’s tragic!


  1. 1 Them’s some powerful beans « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on September 25, 2007 at 10:57 pm

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!