My tiniest tomatoes

I don’t think I managed to beat Chigiy and her Red Currant Tomatoes, and I’m late to the Ritual of the Tiniest Tomato, which was founded by Carol of May Dreams Gardens, but I want to offer up my entry to the Interwebs.

Because, really…tomatoes this tiny are too cute to keep to myself.

Tiniest tomatoes

Yes, they are both lying on top of a dime. Also, they were delicious.

18 Responses to “My tiniest tomatoes”


  1. 1 betsy September 10, 2007 at 8:44 am

    Is there anything better in the natural world?! You all should know that I was so taken with Genie’s tiny, so-cute-you-might-fall-over-in-fits-of-cute-overload tomatoes that I took a picture of one (set against notebook paper to document the scale). It is the first thing I see when I open my phone, and no matter how grumpy I may be, that little dimple of a tomato always warms my heart. Ah, to be round, juicy, tiny and red. Thank you, Genie, for spreading the love.

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener September 10, 2007 at 8:47 am

    Betsy, I am happy to spread the love anytime. I mean, if I like the people. I mean, if I like the people and they’re nice to me. Also, it helps if they suck up to me by putting pics of my tomatoes on their phone, because then they get extra-special brownie points. Or tomato points.

    I’m going to go get more coffee now.

    :-)

  3. 3 heyercapital September 10, 2007 at 9:31 am

    Looks like I could get the whole thing stuck between my teeth. :-0

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener September 10, 2007 at 9:32 am

    Heyercapital, that’s definitely a risk with these guys. You can barely get a bite in when you eat them!

  5. 5 Carol September 10, 2007 at 11:04 am

    Those are “over the top” cute tomatoes. It’s a wonder the garden fairies didn’t find them first! Those “almost” beat Chigiy, almost… Thanks for posting about them!

  6. 6 inadvertentgardener September 10, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    Carol, thanks for kicking off the tiny tomato festivities! Chigiy’s are incredible…so small!

  7. 7 kate September 10, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    Ah, these are adorable – now I have a craving for a tomato which will probably not taste anything like these little gems!

  8. 8 Christina September 10, 2007 at 6:32 pm

    So adorable!

    What variety are they?

  9. 9 growthumbs September 10, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    Those are tiny tiny. I would like to see the flowers that made those tiny tomatoes.

  10. 10 Julie September 10, 2007 at 9:35 pm

    Very little tiny cutie-pie baby sugar tomatoes!
    Good job, for sure!
    Julie

  11. 11 wes September 10, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    Wow, I dig the new site design. I also like the colors in the tomatoes-on-a-dime photo; the saturation blows me away.

  12. 12 inadvertentgardener September 10, 2007 at 10:37 pm

    Kate, these are truly the most tasty tomatoes ever.

    Christina, they’re Mexico Midgets.

    Growthumbs, surprisingly the flowers aren’t that much smaller than the ones that lead to the big tomatoes!

    Julie, they are such little tiny cutie pies. I have really enjoyed them this summer.

  13. 13 inadvertentgardener September 10, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    Wes, thanks so much! I actually didn’t do a single thing to the photo of the tiny tomatoes — just cropped it and threw it up there. They really are that red!

  14. 14 chigiy September 10, 2007 at 11:27 pm

    Those are very cute tiny tomatoes.
    They are so small that you can still see FDR peeking out
    from underneath them.
    Good job.

  15. 15 inadvertentgardener September 10, 2007 at 11:42 pm

    Thanks, Chigiy! I think you’re still the undisputed champion, though…

    :-)

  16. 16 Me September 11, 2007 at 6:28 am

    Ooooh – I picked a tiny one yesterday – hope to photograph it today but I am pretty sure it wasn’t this small…

    They are cute, arent they?

  17. 17 inadvertentgardener September 11, 2007 at 8:22 am

    Me, I think they’re adorable — love these little guys!


  1. 1 My Tiny Tomato entry « Growing Thumbs Trackback on September 14, 2007 at 7:23 pm

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!