Green Thumb Sunday: Tight-fisted flower

Tight-fisted flower

Gardeners, plant and nature lovers can join in Green Thumb Sunday every week. Visit As the Garden Grows for more information.

24 Responses to “Green Thumb Sunday: Tight-fisted flower”


  1. 1 Michelle August 12, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    Perfectly captured! Bravo!

  2. 2 captain lifecruiser August 12, 2007 at 4:56 pm

    Is that flower giving me the finger????? *giggles*

    Nice capture. I don’t think I’ve seen it before.

  3. 3 deb August 12, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    Sure does look like a fist…heheh!!

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener August 12, 2007 at 9:21 pm

    Michelle, thanks! I wish these would unfurl — I’m dying to see what they look like inside!

    Captain Lifecruiser, it’s a semi-polite flower. No finger, just fist. :-)

    Deb, yeah, doesn’t it? So strange…

  5. 5 anniebetty August 12, 2007 at 9:26 pm

    Isn’t it a four-o’clock? I love them. Neat flower, and the seed sits down right in the middle of the flower … I have red, orange and yellow, and they reseed like mad. In the right spot (like in my friend’s garden in Nazareth), they act like perennials. Very cool.

  6. 6 inadvertentgardener August 12, 2007 at 9:39 pm

    AB, you’re right! I knew I saved all my empty seed packets for a reason… So far I have yellow and red, but haven’t seen them open yet. Now that I know what I should be looking for, I’ll check it out Tuesday afternoon, when I’m working from home.

  7. 7 Kylee August 13, 2007 at 12:14 am

    I was just about to ask what this was, and then there was the answer. I’ve never grown these, but I’d like to. Maybe next year!

  8. 8 ruth August 13, 2007 at 12:16 am

    Great photo….we also call this Marvel of Peru. Happy GTS

  9. 9 Chigiy August 13, 2007 at 12:26 am

    It does look like a little fist. It looks like a four oclock only the one I used to have was hot pink.
    Great photo.

  10. 10 Aiyana August 13, 2007 at 1:04 am

    Aptly labeled photo. The flower color is quite pretty. Happy GTS!

  11. 11 inadvertentgardener August 13, 2007 at 8:54 am

    Kylee, they’re pretty cool — took a long time to bloom, though@

    Ruth, I love that it has another name!

    Chigiy, the kind I grew are supposed to be assorted colors, so maybe I’ll get one of those. Hmm…

    Aiyana, happy GTS to you, too. Thanks for stopping by!

  12. 12 farmingfriends August 13, 2007 at 10:19 am

    What a beautiful and unusual flower. Will it grow in the UK?
    Sara from farmingfriends

  13. 13 anniebetty August 13, 2007 at 10:29 am

    It is my experience that four-o’clocks will grow almost anywhere. They fill a space beautifully. My guess is that in the UK they will be fully annual, though. I’m no expert, so all of my comments are threatened by fact-checking.

  14. 14 inadvertentgardener August 13, 2007 at 12:15 pm

    Sara, Anniebetty probably has the best info of all. I’m definitely not a good source, since I forgot what kind of flower I even grew!

    AB, your comments are much less threatened than any I might make on the four-o’clocks’ behalf…

  15. 15 anniebetty August 13, 2007 at 1:20 pm

    Oh dear. The pressure …

  16. 16 inadvertentgardener August 13, 2007 at 2:06 pm

    AB, I live to help you reach your full potential. :-)

  17. 17 anniebetty August 13, 2007 at 9:10 pm

    The last comment I have on this matter (I think) is that I believe your fisted flower actually bloomed and had closed up when you took the picture. You can see the ones behind it are still rather pointy like an old Christmas light?

    These guys open sort of briefly (oh, usually around 4-o’clock) and then sort of crumple in on themselves.

    So watch carefully. You don’t want to miss it!

  18. 18 inadvertentgardener August 13, 2007 at 9:27 pm

    AB, I’m definitely going to try to check them around 4 tomorrow. I wonder if they’re on Central or Eastern Time? Ha!

    By the way…I love your avatar. :-)

  19. 19 anniebetty August 14, 2007 at 7:52 am

    A friend of mine sent that pic to me … it was called something like: “What you do when you have a really big lime, a docile cat and a lot of time on your hands.” I laugh everytime I see it. The cats looks like he’s kind of proud of it, doesn’t he?

    The four o’clocks are on their own time. Out my way, they open up in the late afternoon … lovely scent.

  20. 21 anniebetty August 14, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    OK. So I lied. My friend Karen (there are a lot of us around here) says her 4-o’clocks open in the morning.

    ARGH!

  21. 22 inadvertentgardener August 15, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    It’s OK, AB. Mine definitely didn’t open at 4 p.m. yesterday…one of these days, I’ll figure it out!

  22. 23 anniebetty August 15, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    How ’bout this … if I catch mine open tomorrow, I’ll post and tell you exactly what time it is. Maybe it’s a rare and effective intelligence test?


  1. 1 It’s four o’clock somewhere « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on August 21, 2007 at 4:46 pm

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!