Triumph of the beans

OK, so remember how I said I would be happy with one bean? Just one? A single bean, perhaps served up on an eeny weeny plate, like a trophy?

May I present to you…tonight’s harvest:

Bean triumph

I am approximately 31 times happier than I expected. Only now I am only 30 times happier. Because I already ate one raw just to see how good it would taste approximately 79 seconds after it was removed from the plant.

16 Responses to “Triumph of the beans”


  1. 1 Lydia August 9, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    Congratulations on your beautiful harvest!

  2. 2 Christina August 9, 2007 at 7:15 pm

    Yesssssss! Have a bean-errific dinner!

  3. 3 inadvertentgardener August 9, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    Lydia, thanks so much! I’m pretty psyched. :-)

    Christina, I definitely will! I haven’t eaten them yet, but I think I’m going to crunch on them shortly. They’re so tasty!

  4. 4 Carol August 9, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    Why (or how) did you wait so long to eat that first bean? We all rejoice in your triumph, savor those beans!

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener August 9, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    Carol, I would have eaten it right in the garden if I’d had a little water near by. Those bad boys were filthy!

  6. 6 Heather August 9, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    How long from planting to harvest for you, Genie? I planted Kentucky Pole Beans on July 1st and no sign of any blossoms yet. Remember how patience isn’t my best virtue?

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener August 9, 2007 at 10:53 pm

    Heather, I think I planted mine around mid-June. They broke through the soil around June 30, and had flowers about two weeks ago, maybe three weeks ago (July? It’s all a blur for me…). But I am concerned that you’re not seeing any blossoms yet. Not even any buds? Anything?

  8. 8 Katiez August 10, 2007 at 9:58 am

    Congrats on your harvest! Nice size, too!
    I may have overplanted… Mine started producing a week ago and I’ve been picking enough for the village every night. Yesterday I saw the biggest, ugliest, scariest bug ever sitting on a leaf… It may curtail my picking for a day or two…

  9. 9 Heather August 10, 2007 at 10:23 am

    It’s pouring here today (and cold), but tomorrow is supposed to be a lovely sunny day, so I’ll go out and search carefully for signs of buds.

  10. 10 inadvertentgardener August 10, 2007 at 10:50 am

    Katiez, what kind of bug was it, do you think? Not an oversize bean leaf beetle, perchance? My leaves are definitely continuing to get eaten…it’s nuts! Does make it easier to find the beans, though. I do wish I’d planted more, but I’ve really enjoyed the ones I got.

    Heather, has it been cold a lot? I wonder if that’s curtailing flower development. Keep me posted — I’m keeping my fingers crossed that you end up with beans!

  11. 11 steven August 10, 2007 at 11:31 am

    Nice beans. I didn’t plant any this year in anticipation of a bad Japanese Beetle season and I was right in doing so, they were awful. They’ve tapered off now so I can plant a late crop and I’ll get beans up until the first frost. My dogs are crazy about green beans and they keep the bottoms of the plants well-picked.

  12. 12 jackiesgarden August 10, 2007 at 1:39 pm

    Great beans! I’ve finally got beans, too, and have been eating them nearly every night for the last week. I just wish I liked them cooked in a little healthier manner…I want mine with butter, onion, and bacon in them!

  13. 13 Heather August 10, 2007 at 2:48 pm

    Good news. I had to brave the monsoon out there (1.5 inches so far today) to cut some thyme for tonight’s dinner. I figured I was soaked already, I might as well walk down to the veggie garden. There are definitely buds on the beans! But no, in answer to your question, it hasn’t been cold. According to what I read on-line these particular beans are 65 to harvest. I’m 41 days in, so maybe that’s right on schedule, only 3 weeks from bud to bean?

  14. 14 inadvertentgardener August 10, 2007 at 3:52 pm

    Steven, I love it — the garden as doggie snack bar. Excellent stuff.

    Jackie, I haven’t tried mine like that (ate them all raw, in fact), but that way sounds, ahem, delicious.

    Heather, sounds like it might be about right to me. Although I always forget to count the days from seed to food…

  15. 15 wayne August 12, 2007 at 8:04 am

    Congratulations! try eating a thin one some time!!!!! I love mine roasted with whatever else I can gather from the garden… onions, garlic, zucchini, eggplants….

    hope they keep flowing into your life

  16. 16 inadvertentgardener August 12, 2007 at 8:05 am

    Wayne, what’s the difference with the thin ones? Are they sweeter? I thought about picking some earlier, but was too chicken.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!