More mowing, more mowing

Bare bedThe landlord’s been at it again with the mower. This time, he took out the crazy bed that housed the bulbs Steve and I planted back in the spring.

I remember, when Steve planted them, wondering if he’d be around to see them bloom. Then he left, and I wondered if any of the bulbs would grow at all, because they weren’t very productive. Then some of the most gorgeous, creamy gladiolas ever popped up and bloomed.

A few days ago, I came home to find the whole bed sheared down to dirt. I had a moment of silence for it all, then decided I’d give up the fight on that particular area of the yard. It’s directly under the black walnut tree, gets very little sunlight for that reason, and honestly, I’m just a single gardener trying to get all this stuff done in a house that I rent. I think I can let it go.

Besides, it gets back to this: the landlord mows. Which means I don’t have to.

15 Responses to “More mowing, more mowing”


  1. 1 steven August 8, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    I’m glad you can be so sanguine about this, I on the other hand am of a choleric nature and I’d be freaking out.

  2. 2 Heather August 8, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    It’s still sad though. Maybe if you bought a cheap border fence (should be really marked down this time of year) and outlined the edge of the beds? We put down the rubber mat edge that sort of looks like mulch to edge the mulch in the container garden area. You just pound it in with lawn staples and the lawn mower goes right over it, no weed-whacking necessary, but it’s about 6 inches wide, so you can miss the important plants. You can also take the border/fencing with you when you eventually move.

    This is exactly why my husband now mowes the lawn at our rental. I would completely freak if any of my babies were harmed through ignorance!

  3. 3 Jenny August 8, 2007 at 3:00 pm

    What kind of mower does that man use? That looks like a good, old fashioned yard scalping if I ever saw one.

  4. 4 kate August 8, 2007 at 3:43 pm

    I like your attitude … you’ve got to give a bit, to get something in return (i.e. the guy mows the lawn, and everything else too, but at least, as you say, you don’t have to do it!)

  5. 5 anniebetty August 8, 2007 at 3:54 pm

    But the bulbs will be back. One must look forward …

  6. 6 Sue August 8, 2007 at 5:23 pm

    We mow about 5 acres and it is a pain. We just let the rest grow wild. Our tractor broke down and we are doing it all with a riding mower and walk behind.

  7. 7 Tiya August 8, 2007 at 10:10 pm

    At our old school we used to love the days they mowed, as it left huge piles of grass clippings young children just love to play in. It’s a good thing I suppose that the school never had a garden, as few things can survive the wrath of a minimum wage janitor atop a riding mower.
    Oh well. Live and learn I guess. :)

  8. 8 Katiez August 9, 2007 at 2:40 am

    Yeah, sometimes you just have to suck it in and let it go…. or go nuts trying to do something you can’t.
    Let him mow in peace… and bake him some cooking at Christmas….
    Maybe he’ll listen better then (lawnmower man)

  9. 9 Lydia August 9, 2007 at 6:08 am

    It’s a bit of a trade-off, someone to do the mowing at all versus someone who does it badly. In the end, I’d go for someone who does it at all. The bulbs will rise again, in spite of his bumbling.

  10. 10 Emma August 9, 2007 at 12:11 pm

    your bulbs will be like a phoenix rising from the grassy ashes of mowed destruction. you are looking at things the right way. just have a cup of tea/coffee/scotch and look at how far you’ve come. :-)

    And get a little border fence on clearance from walmart/home depot/lowes/etc. :-)

    emma

  11. 11 anniebetty August 9, 2007 at 5:29 pm

    I, for one, embrace that “cup of scotch” idea.

  12. 12 inadvertentgardener August 9, 2007 at 7:22 pm

    Steven, most days, I’m of a choleric nature, too. But sometimes, I’m able to overcome. Sometimes.

    Heather, I actually am thinking about it…I don’t think the landlord would mind another bed, especially if I actually tended it. The weeds that had grown up with the glads definitely called for a whacking.

    Jenny, it quite possibly may have been a weed whacker rather than a mower. He always does this stuff while I’m at work!

    Kate, yeah…not having to mow is key.

    AB, do you think they’ll rebound? I wasn’t sure if they would just grow once and be done with it. Perhaps I will go get that cup of scotch and ponder this…

    Sue, with five acres, I’d let a bunch grow wild, too.

    Tiya, oops…mower rage. Stay out of the way!

    Katiez, you know, that’s not a bad tactic!

    Lydia, he really does the rest of it quite well. This situation cracked me up a little.

    Emma, I like that. Phoenix bulbs. Hmm…

  13. 13 anniebetty August 10, 2007 at 11:01 am

    OK. I’m going out on a limb to suggest that if they DON’T rebound, I will fly to Iowa and plant you a new bed next season. I am eternally optimistic about how nature is bigger and more resilient than we are … they had lots of light before they got mown (mowed?) down. I think they’ll be OK.

  14. 14 inadvertentgardener August 10, 2007 at 3:53 pm

    AB, I’ll take you up on that guarantee!


  1. 1 The power of a minority vote « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on January 26, 2008 at 12:09 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!