Just this side of awesome

So, on Sunday morning, over my locally-grown cantaloupe and locally-laid eggs, I took a gander through the 2007 Iowa State Fair supplement in the newspaper to see what my friends and I will have to look forward to when we attend on Saturday.

And while I am certainly all fired up for the Harry Potter carved from Iowa butter (who wouldn’t be thrilled about that?) and the Marble Shoot Contest and the White Pigeon Release; and while I am already salivating over the thought of eating a Bauder’s Peppermint Bar, fried cheese curds, several corn dogs and possibly a fried Snickers bar, just like last year, here is that about which I am most excited:

Potato Lollipops.

Yes, people. Thick-sliced russet potatoes, fried and on a stick. With dipping sauces. New at the Fair this year!

For a potato eater like me, this is my very own manna in the desert.

20 Responses to “Just this side of awesome”


  1. 1 Sugar Creek Farm August 7, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    Cool, we’re going to be at the fair on Saturday, too! My daughter sings in the 4-H building sometime around noon.

  2. 2 Heather August 7, 2007 at 12:36 pm

    I want one. I wonder if potato lollipops will catch on in New England during our fair season. We have a big one near where we live: http://www.durhamfair.com/. But I know our quaint little country fairs probably don’t even come close to a real-live state fair.

  3. 3 Jenny August 7, 2007 at 12:53 pm

    This does sound like a dream come true, but I was pretty much already there with the fried Snickers bar. What a shame I’m in VA.

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener August 7, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    Kelli, you’re going to be there too? Yay! We ought to try to say hello somewhere, although I don’t know where or how we could find each other. I know we won’t be there in time to catch your daughter’s performance — we’re not going to be able to leave Iowa City until after 11 — but it would be cool to meet in person!

    Heather, I suspect it’s only a matter of time. Iowa cannot keep all the great junk food to itself…

    Jenny, the fried Snickers bar is pretty fabulous. The corn dog and cheese curds outstrip it, in my opinion, but the Snickers bar is pretty divine. All melty-warm. The problem is that, honestly, it’s too rich for one person to eat alone. I’m serious. And you know if I’m saying that, it’s really rich.

  5. 5 anniebetty August 7, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    Well now. I’m feeling left out. The fried cheese curds will be absolutely amazing. The corn dogs, oh, yeah. But the potato lolllipop? How come no one in Pennsylvania has come up with that?! We have cool fried potato spiral things. We have fried Oreos. We have fried Twinkies. But fried Snickers bars???? Oh dear. I am feeling so left out.

  6. 6 inadvertentgardener August 7, 2007 at 1:21 pm

    AB, I’ve been to the Apple Harvest Festival in Biglerville and had the pumpkin funnel cake, which no one in Iowa has yet embraced, so Pennsylvania does have its proprietary goodies. But I wouldn’t give it long before you get the potato lollipop. I mean, how can that craze not spread across the country like mad?

  7. 7 anniebetty August 7, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    What a brilliant point you make. I, too, have been to the Apple Harvest Fest and enjoyed the lovely pumpkin funnel cake. Oh it was a fine thing, too.

    I’ve been enjoying your blog. We have lots of flower gardening going on here but only one self-sown tomato plant (which, one might mention, is loaded with tomatoes). We are moving the vegetable garden, and I’m not ready to put it where it will go, so I’ve been reduced to begging (and stealing, I might add) produce from friends.

    Next year … oh the plans.

  8. 8 inadvertentgardener August 7, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    AB, wasn’t it great? Of course, all that pumpkin puree in the batter made the dang thing weigh about 15 pounds, but still…it was yummy. And, of course, packed with Vitamin A or C or whatever pumpkin is rife with.

    Now that I’m prone to vegetable gardening, I think I could probably make it through the summer as long as I had at least one tomato plant of my own. But without that, life would be sad, indeed.

  9. 9 anniebetty August 7, 2007 at 1:31 pm

    I am actually having terrible tomato withdrawal. No. Make that lust. I usually have 8 or 10 heirloom varieties going; this year, my friend Jack keeps showing up with tomatoes from his garden–heirlooms every one. I should be happy. I get to taste them and eat them like apples. I get to touch them and ooh and ahh.

    But they are not MINE. It’s just not fair.

    Next year …

    As to the pumpkin, we can be happy not only with the vitamins, but funnel cake with FIBER is something to behold.

  10. 10 inadvertentgardener August 7, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    Oh, I believe you. It absolutely isn’t the same. But you’ll have them back soon, for sure!

    And yes…funnel cake with vitamins and fiber. It’s practically health food! And if the icing is thinned with milk, there’s calcium in there, too!

  11. 11 Michelle August 7, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    Aw man! I am going to miss the Iowa State Fair this year. I’ve been many many times. My favorites are the grilled turkey leg. Porkchop on a stick, grater taters, J.P. Donuts, elephant ears, gyros (but you have to get them from the gyro guy in front of the varied industry building across from the big stadium). OH can’t forget lemon shakeups.

    *sniff* I am SO jealous. Are you going to take a gander at the perfect veggies in the ag building? What about the pig farrowing area?

    Old Mill ride? OH don’t forget to take a “break” at the Charmin bathroom. Practically a spa!

  12. 12 inadvertentgardener August 7, 2007 at 4:33 pm

    Michelle, everyone always talks about how great the turkey legs are, but they never tempt me — I feel like I could barbeque a turkey leg any day at home, but I’ll never, ever fry up a Snickers bar. Or cheese curds. But maybe I’ll try one this year. And thanks for the gyro guy tip — that’s good info.

    I’m definitely going to hit the ag building and the pig farrowing — I LOVE the pig farrowing. Those little baby pigs are adorable! Actually, this year, I think they’ve just opened a whole building of baby animals, which is going to rule!

  13. 13 Michelle August 7, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    Oh, these turkey legs are something special. Just try it. I like getting it to eat on my way out to the car. It’s very satisfying to rip the meat off the bone with your teeth and it DOES come with a convenient built-in handle.

  14. 15 Diana August 7, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    I enjoyed your post about the Fair! We’re going with my husband to the Indiana State Fair next week and he is a huge fan of Fairs and is always claiming IN is the best! When I lived in Minn, we had a butter bust of the Fair Queen, but I’ve never seen Harry Potter! What a hoot. My husband’s family runs the horse shows so we’re going to settle in for some good Midwestern fun for 3-4 days. It’ll be our 4-year-old daughter’s first time. I hope she can keep up with us!

  15. 16 jackiesgarden August 7, 2007 at 10:26 pm

    My hubby, T, is from Iowa and was telling me about the State Fair. I would so love to go! Our fairs are not nearly on that scale. Have fun and eat a potato for me…I’m from Idaho (the spud state) and never met a potato I didn’t like!

  16. 17 inadvertentgardener August 8, 2007 at 8:01 am

    Michelle, I will definitely keep it in mind. Food with its own handle? Always a good thing.

    Christina, I’ll be sure to report back on all the goodness.

    Diana, I bet your four-year-old will have a blast!

    Jackie, yeah, I never have met an unfriendly potato, either. Potatoes rule.

  17. 18 steven August 8, 2007 at 9:50 am

    Some lunatic fries Coca Cola syrup at the fair around here, I’ve never tried it. *shudders*


  1. 1 Just call me Templeton « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on August 15, 2007 at 11:21 pm
  2. 2 Just call me Templeton – The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on August 16, 2009 at 10:27 pm

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!