Simple is better

Luckily for me, I scheduled a doctor’s appointment for Tuesday mid-day, which meant I could spend my first post-weekend recovery day working from home. It was a productive day, for sure, but I can guarantee my co-workers should be glad I was not in the office. Cranky? Oh, yes, I was.

Still, there were small pleasures to make the day awfully palatable. For example, I heard the siren song of the ice cream truck around 4 p.m., and I abandoned my IM session with a co-worker to sprint outside, barefoot, holding my wallet. I flagged down an ice cream truck, people. Thank God the guy stopped so I didn’t have to chase him up the street.

Brandywine piecesHowever, earlier in the day, when I was hungry for a mid-morning snack, I grabbed one of the Brandywines off the kitchen windowsill. The sun had beat on it all morning, and it was warm enough to hold its heat even after I rinsed it in cold water.

I thought about going outside to cut some basil. Thought about crumbling the good feta in my fridge over it. Then quit right there with the thinking.

What that tomato needed was a little straight-up wedgie action: slicing it into sixteenths, then shaking a little salt on it and calling it snack. A warm, tomatoey, salty, decadent snack.

Sometimes the simple solution is the best one, after all.

7 Responses to “Simple is better”


  1. 1 Stuart August 2, 2007 at 12:31 am

    Great resolution Genie. I’d have struggled to put the balsamic back but my tastebuds are already salivating at your little ‘snack.’

  2. 2 Chigiy August 2, 2007 at 1:06 am

    My absolute favorite way to eat a tomato.

    Ahhhh, ice cream trucks, it’s almost enough to restore my faith in America.

  3. 3 Katiez August 2, 2007 at 2:49 am

    Never mess with a perfect tomato! Salt is acceptable… maybe even a grind of pepper. Eat the basil seperately!

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener August 2, 2007 at 6:16 am

    Stuart, I will definitely kick in the balsamic next time. This time, though, simple was perfect.

    Chigiy, you should have seen how fast I was up and out the door when I heard the song playing. It was so much fun!

    Katiez, definitely — I have so many other uses for the basil!

  5. 5 cole August 2, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    Hmmm. We enjoyed some CSA tomatoes with a dash of red wine vinegar, seat salt and splash of EVOO tossed with some homemade buffalo mozarella for our lunch at the pool today. Yum. I love the tomato water that a tad of salt with bring out of a tomato. Delish and summer personified!
    xx

  6. 6 cole August 2, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    duh, that would be SEA salt and not seat salt. Yuck, that sounds like butt salt. ick.

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener August 3, 2007 at 8:56 am

    Cole, I agree. Seat salt? Not so much. Although the thought of your dish by the pool sounds pretty heavenly. Oh…do I ever long for the days when I could spend the day at the pool…


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!