Six states, 76 hours

There have been plenty of times this summer when I’ve had to step away from the garden, but mostly, those times have been spurred on by work travel.

All NighterThis past weekend, I attempted a by-my-own-choice travel mash-up of two Major Events, neither of which I wanted to miss: BlogHer ’07, and Cal Ripken Jr.’s induction into the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

The logistics were insane. Drive from Iowa City to Moline, Illinois on Friday morning for a 7 a.m. flight to Chicago, hit BlogHer all day and a food bloggers’ dinner Friday night, get up at 3:15 a.m. to catch the shuttle to O’Hare for flight number two into D.C., where my friend Brian picked me up at the airport and whisked me and our friend Dave off through Virginia, Maryland, Pennsylvania and New York before we spent the night at a family friend’s house in Oxford, NY.

Sunday dawned foggily, but the skies cleared in time for the induction ceremony, which was as crazy-crowded and overwhelming as I thought it would be. I’ve been a fan of Cal Ripken Jr. since way before I became a fan of gardening, and Brian and I made a pact years ago—before Cal even announced his retirement—that we would be there for the ceremony.

Another crazy drive back to D.C. followed, with just enough time to catch an hour and a half of sleep before my 6 a.m. flight out on Monday.

One of my clients predicted I’d be down for the count for a week after such a trip. I am pleased to announce that while I’m in better shape than I thought I’d be, it’s going to take me one more day to return to garden stories.

However, don’t think I made the trip without noticing a few plants along the way, and not all of them were even from the window of a speeding vehicle.

Window box

14 Responses to “Six states, 76 hours”


  1. 1 Kalyn August 1, 2007 at 9:55 am

    Hi Genie,
    I do admire your stamina. It was great meeting you in person at last. I’m sorry I was such a sickly and boring roommate. Isn’t it fun meeting other bloggers? I’m so glad I got to meet you even if it was for such a short time.

    To all her readers, Genie is just as adorable and bubbly as you might imagine from her blog. The only thing that surprised me was that she was taller than I imagined.

  2. 2 Jenny August 1, 2007 at 10:40 am

    I love this photo! Really pretty.

  3. 3 steven August 1, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    Boy are you going to have to plant a bunch of stuff to offset your carbon footprint. Sounds fun though and Cal deserves such a devoted fan.

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener August 1, 2007 at 1:11 pm

    Kalyn, you were definitely not boring! I just hope you are starting to feel better — how miserable to be sick during such a fun conference! It was great to get to hang out with you, and thank you again for letting me be your short-term roommate. It was terrific!

    Jenny, thanks so much! It was taken behind the farmhouse we stayed in on Saturday night.

    Steven, egads…I did not even think about the carbon footprint issue. Yikes. But yeah, it was fun. Cal is worth it…any day.

  5. 5 Terry B August 1, 2007 at 1:20 pm

    Wow, Genie—An impressive bit of traveling there. Glad we got to talk even briefly at the bloggers dinner. Here are a couple of the events I’d mentioned to you. first, the Threshers Reunion, in Mt. Pleasant:

    http://www.oldthreshers.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=support.main

    And second, the Spoon River Valley Drive and Fall Festival:

    http://ettractions.com/ettractions/att/15435.asp

  6. 6 Stuart August 1, 2007 at 6:22 pm

    Wow. I’d certainly be taking a week off after that Genie. You obviously have some great stamina levels.

    Cute rustic pic BTW.

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener August 1, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    Terry, thanks for the links! It was terrific to meet you, too. I need to make my own rounds of everyone’s posts/blogs, and I promise to get to that…am hoping to have a little time this weekend to settle in with some commenting.

    Stuart, if only I had time to take a week off. I could definitely use it, although like I said, I’m not doing too badly. Just tired!

  8. 8 Me August 2, 2007 at 6:35 am

    I love that last photo…

  9. 9 inadvertentgardener August 2, 2007 at 7:56 am

    Me, thanks — I love it, too! It was a very peaceful moment in the midst of a very hectic weekend…

  10. 10 Jeanne August 2, 2007 at 12:22 pm

    Great trip! I’m tired just reading about it! Time for a nap!

  11. 11 inadvertentgardener August 2, 2007 at 1:46 pm

    Jeanne, I could totally use a nap myself…


  1. 1 Simple is better « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on August 1, 2007 at 10:21 pm
  2. 2 Fish biscuits to warm the snowy soul « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on February 7, 2008 at 10:54 pm
  3. 3 Going to BlogHer 2008? « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on July 3, 2008 at 11:55 pm

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!