Green Thumb Sunday: After storms, the magical mushrooms grow

Teeny mushrooms

Gardeners, plant and nature lovers can join in Green Thumb Sunday every week. Visit As the Garden Grows for more information.

13 Responses to “Green Thumb Sunday: After storms, the magical mushrooms grow”


  1. 1 farmingfriends July 29, 2007 at 8:56 am

    I love photographing fungi. I love the texture of this mushroom. I wonder if this is a friend or foe?
    Sara from farmingfriends

  2. 2 Heather July 29, 2007 at 9:03 am

    I don’t know why, but your photo made me think of smurfs. I guess it looked like a happy little mushroom village. Very pretty.

  3. 3 Aiana July 29, 2007 at 12:33 pm

    Those are neat little mushrooms. They look so delicate, like something for a fairy.

  4. 4 Ruth July 29, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    What a lovely photograph. Sweet little mushrooms and the drop of water on the leaf looks like a tear drop. Happy GTS

  5. 5 growthumbs July 29, 2007 at 9:04 pm

    They look purple and pink. And look like little smurf villages. Thats a great shot.

    What kind of camera do you use for your photo taking?

  6. 6 thebluestbutterfly July 29, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    What kind of mushrooms are they???

  7. 7 kate July 30, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    These are cute … I was working in the garden this morning and uncovered a mushroom patch, growing happily. Maybe I should have left them in peace, but I needed to uproot a mildewy plant. Alas, the mushroom have been consigned to fungi heaven.

  8. 8 allotmentjunkies July 30, 2007 at 4:07 pm

    I’ve also got mushrooms growing on my plot. I thought that the spores were brought in on the horse manure I used… Pehaps its just the wet weather…

  9. 9 Chigiy July 30, 2007 at 8:05 pm

    I’m not a mycologist but those aren’t really “magic” are they?
    Nudge nudge wink wink.

  10. 10 Me July 31, 2007 at 3:21 pm

    beautiful and delicate shrooms…

  11. 11 inadvertentgardener August 1, 2007 at 8:58 am

    Sara, I have no idea…but I decided not to eat it just to be safe. :-)

    Heather, these made me think of Smurfs, too.

    Aiana, I thought they were pretty cool, too.

    Ruth, thanks, and happy GTS to you, too!

    Growthumbs, I use a Canon Powershot SD450. One of these days, I’m upgrading to a digital SLR, but for now, it works for me!

    Thebluestbutterfly, I’m not really sure — they just appeared, and then disappeared!

    Kate, in my experience, the fungi disappear pretty quickly anyway, so no worries.

    Allotmentjunkies, you know, I hadn’t even given any thought to where the spores would have come from. Interesting…

    Chigiy, hmm…maybe I should have taken a closer look! Tee hee…

    Me, thank you for visiting!

  12. 12 John Roper August 1, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    These mushrooms are probably some sort of Coprinopsis (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coprinopsis). Not edible and not “magic”, but beautiful none the less.

  13. 13 inadvertentgardener August 1, 2007 at 10:07 pm

    John, how cool! Thanks for the link — that was an interesting read.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!