Finally, the non-mosquito bugs come out to play

There’s been all kinds of news this year about the lack of bees around the country. I’m as troubled by this as everyone else, and must admit that this year, there are many Bug in flowerfewer bees in evidence in my garden than last summer. I don’t know if I just planted the wrong things, or if the whole colony collapse disorder dealio has come here to roost, but it has been distinctly less buggy out there.

Except for the part where there are mosquitoes. Lots and lots of mosquitoes.

I learned a lot about different bugs last year, but haven’t seen very many of the ones I grew used to seeing. And, until this week, hadn’t really seen any that I didn’t recognize.

Again, back to the mosquitoes. If I could count how many I’ve killed this year, I would tell you. But I can’t, so I won’t.

But on Thursday night, a bug I’d never seen before showed up in one of my not-yet-blooming flowers. He thought he could hide from me, I guess. But I looked close, and saw the guy to the left. What the heck is he? Any ideas?

9 Responses to “Finally, the non-mosquito bugs come out to play”


  1. 1 steven July 28, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    Well the long hind legs make it an Orthoptera, the fambly of grasshoppers, crickets, katydids etc. so that’s a start.

  2. 2 Katiez July 28, 2007 at 2:24 pm

    Don’t know, but I have them too. Don’t they eat aphids? We like bugs that eat bad bugs…
    Our hedge was so full of bees a few weeks ago (it was blooming) that we could hardly walk by – and the buzzing was deafening!
    Now they’re all gone and no one is around to pollinate my vegetables… – lazy bees….

  3. 3 Karen Ledebur July 29, 2007 at 2:40 pm

    Genie….that’s one ugly looking bug. I think it’s a leaf roller or some funky hybrid grasshopper. Not to worry on the rabies and maybe this is a good bug…one that will eat the yucky bugs. Could I find a bug like that to protect me?

  4. 4 jackiesgarden July 30, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    Not sure what your bug is – but he’s bright and colorful. I know where all the bees are…right here in my garden! We are overrun with bees and they are very aggressive right now. Also looking for moisture anywhere they can find it, and they ate every single one of my cherries off my new (little) tree, and finished all my raspberries! I wish they’d go somewhere!

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener August 1, 2007 at 8:45 am

    Steven, excellent info! I’m going to start digging around for more info, starting with that.

    Katiez, I’m not sure because I’m not sure I have any aphids. Although…if those bugs are eating the aphids, that would explain why. Righty-o.

    Karen, if I can find a bug to protect you and can send it your way, I definitely will!

    Jackie, oh no! They ate all your cherries and raspberries? Colony collapse disorder aside, that’s criminal!

  6. 6 kat e August 1, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    I agree that it’s got to be some kind of grasshopper-type thing. An awesome website that will likely be able to help you is: http://www.whatsthatbug.com. You can send in your picture and they’ll help ID your critter!

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener August 1, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    Kat e — I completely forgot about whatsthatbug.com! I definitely should send it in. Thanks for the reminder!

  8. 9 inadvertentgardener August 5, 2007 at 8:37 am

    Katie, that’s crazy…and a little bit scary! Thanks for the link, although now I’m totally creeped out. :-)


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!