Witness to the population explosion

“Do you own a cat?” asked my next-door neighbor earlier tonight. He was exiting his house while I was tending to the watering I didn’t get to before work this morning.

“No,” I said.

“There’s one standing by the car,” he said. “I wondered if it was yours.”

I shook my head.

“Do you want a cat?” he asked. “Because now it’s walking toward your front yard.”

“I’m more of a dog person,” I said. “But maybe it would help chase away the rabbits.”

“I’ve seen a lot more of those than usual,” he said. “Have they been eating your plants?”

“They were for awhile,” I said. “Now I think things are too big for them. But they ate all the peas. I got no peas this year.”

“They like the green stuff,” he said. “That’s for sure.”

11 Responses to “Witness to the population explosion”


  1. 1 Carol July 25, 2007 at 8:51 pm

    I hate when the rabbits eat all the pea vines like that! I think my neighbor’s cats helped keep some rabbits away from my garden. If a cat came over to play, I let it stay instead of chasing it out like before. I think I’m on to something here…

  2. 2 steven July 25, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    Jack Russell Terriers are the answer to your rabbit problems, but then you have a Jack Russell Terrier problem for the rest of the year.

  3. 3 inadvertentgardener July 25, 2007 at 10:14 pm

    Carol, that sounds like as good a method of rabbit control as I’ve been able to come up with.

    Steven, some might say that’s really not a problem at all!

  4. 4 steven July 26, 2007 at 8:56 am

    I love my JRT, but I have to say she embodies the worst traits of dogs, cats, small children and Tasmanian Devils in one thirteen pound package. (and she’s the mellowest JRT I’ve encountered)

  5. 5 Emma July 26, 2007 at 11:32 am

    In my house, there would be a round of applause of I came in all sad that the bunnies ate the peas. Even the vacuum cleaner yellow lab hates peas. bah! Just wait until next year when I give them brussells sprouts! that’ll teach them not to like my fresh grown peas! ;-)

    Emma

  6. 6 Nirmala July 26, 2007 at 11:38 am

    I guess I’m lucky. My neighbors cat hangs out on my front porch all the time. I pet him and he takes care of container yard so I get the benefits with out the work and the allergies! Cute!

  7. 7 Jenny July 26, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    I know the owner of a big, black cat who wouldn’t mind if he came to live with you to help with your rabbit problem. Interested?

  8. 8 inadvertentgardener July 26, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    Steven, be careful about maligning Tasmanian Devils. I’m sure there’s an association somewhere that will have something to say about that!

    Emma, I think that’s a perfect situation. That means you get all the fresh peas to yourself!

    Nirmala, that does sound like a pretty good deal!

    Jenny, didn’t you try to give me that cat once before?

  9. 9 Jenny July 26, 2007 at 8:10 pm

    Hey, you can’t fault a girl for trying (twice).

  10. 10 inadvertentgardener July 26, 2007 at 8:13 pm

    Jenny, never let it be said you’re not persistent. Or determined. Or focused on the goal. ;-)


  1. 1 The first cut is the deepest « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on July 26, 2007 at 7:12 pm

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!