What appears to be an actual harvest

Tomato harvestAlthough I felt like the first tomato was ready early this year, everything else seems to be slothing along. There’s not a baby zucchini visible, the cucumbers are just starting to show signs of life, and my chili pepper plant is acting as if it has no idea that the summer is already practically over.

But the tomatoes, even though most of them are still green, cooperated enough to provide me with something of a harvest for my first night home: a few Stupice tomatoes, several yellow pears, and a solid handful of Mexican Midgets.

The Mexican Midgets are fabulous: sweet and tasty, everything a summer tomato ought to be. The yellow pear? Totally flavorless and blah. Maybe that will change, but for now, they’re destined to be roasted with a lot…and I do mean lot…of seasonings. I’m not even sure that roasting will help—it’s hard to concentrate flavor when there is no flavor to concentrate—but I have three productive plants, so I might as well try.

12 Responses to “What appears to be an actual harvest”


  1. 1 Lydia July 18, 2007 at 4:44 pm

    Beautiful harvest! I am green (and red and yellow) with envy.

  2. 2 jackiesgarden July 18, 2007 at 5:43 pm

    I SO have tomato envy! Mine are all green and will be awhile yet. (My tomatoes!)

    You know, I have a neighbor who talked me into growing those pear tomatoes last year – she just loves them. My reaction was the same as yours….not so ripe or ripe….it’s all the same.

  3. 3 Carol July 18, 2007 at 8:45 pm

    An actual harvest? I should be so lucky. Green is my favorite color, but not for tomatoes!

  4. 4 Jenny July 19, 2007 at 8:21 am

    Are yellow tomatoes just bland in general? Mine are definitely on the blah side too.

  5. 5 Wendy July 19, 2007 at 9:22 am

    Have the opposite situation here. Lots and lots of courgettes/zucchinis (just blogged about this) and no tomatoes at all.

  6. 6 steven July 19, 2007 at 9:32 am

    Once again, I am grudgingly happy for your harvest of goodies. I’ll be outside talking to my tomatoes in a threatening tone.

  7. 7 Shannon July 19, 2007 at 12:03 pm

    I have tons of tomatoes, all green. I am getting more squash than I know what to do with. Chiles have been pretty disappointing this season.

    I am also growing the yellow pear and harvesting enough to eat. I do not find them so blah — a little tart and acidic, which I like. My favorite treatment is combining with some halved cherry tomatoes, salting and peppering well, and tossing with olive oil, red wine vinegar and basil. This makes a nice topping for pan-seared fish.

  8. 8 Wayne July 19, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    as of the present there are no red tomatoes for me here in SE PA. I have had many peppers hot and sweet. My cucumbers are also slow, but I thought that was because of a late planting. Zucchini came in this week. green beans are real close. we found one large one yesterday.

    hope your chiles come in soon. I am ready to roast some of my anaheims!!!!!

  9. 9 Katiez July 20, 2007 at 11:42 am

    I may not have any tomatoes but I DO had zucchini… well, at least little, tiny ones. I anticipate a harvest next week!
    And I have a pumpkin plant that could star in ‘The Little Shop of Horrors’!

  10. 10 Annie in Austin July 20, 2007 at 3:58 pm

    So you have tomatoes and Carol/May Dreams is overrun with zucchini – how far is it between Iowa City and Indianapolis?

    Hope your peppers decide to cooperate soon.

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  11. 11 inadvertentgardener July 24, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    Lydia–Well, if you were here, you know I’d share! Hope you get some of your own soon.

    Jackie–Yeah, I’m just not impressed with those yellow pears…

    Carol–It’s only my favorite color when it’s the inside of a Green Zebra!

    Jenny–I like some varieties of bigger yellow tomatoes, and I have had some awesome yellow cherry tomatoes, but these yellow pears…pah.

    Wendy–I think I saw a zucchini floating around in the plant this morning…perhaps your tomato luck will change soon, too?

    Steven–I’m wishing you a change of tomato luck…it’s been bad for you this year!

    Shannon–I haven’t gotten a single chile off my plant…it’s been abysmal!

    Wayne–Yum…Anaheims! Enjoy the roasting!

    Katiez–I love harvesting them when they’re teeny. They’re so tasty then!

    Annie–You’re right…Carol and I ought to orchestrate a trade…


  1. 1 Balsamic roasted tomatoes over polenta « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on August 25, 2007 at 9:04 pm

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!