Upon my return…

When I arrived home from my business trip, I was greeted by signs of life in Tomato Alley:

Tomatoes ripening

Signs of death in the basil:

Dying basil

A gladiola blossom that I could just sit and stare at all day long:

Glad to see this

And, of course, a rabbit:

Rabbit upon return

 

 

3 Responses to “Upon my return…”


  1. 1 Wendy July 18, 2007 at 3:13 am

    The first two greeted me too on my recent return from a trip! Was delighted by the tomatoes and disappointed by the basil. A night in a bucket of water has perked the latter right back up though. :)

  2. 2 jackiesgarden July 18, 2007 at 7:25 am

    I just love the glads – and this color is great. In our zone 5, they have to be dug up and stored for the winter, and replanted in the spring. I’ve been too lazy to deal with that – but I think I’m going to have to do it next year, these are so beautiful.

  3. 3 inadvertentgardener July 18, 2007 at 7:56 am

    Wendy, we’ve been getting a ton of rain here, so that seems to be helping the basil…and the sage, which also took a beating. I’m hoping for a full recovery. Glad to hear yours perked up again!

    Jackie, you know…the photo doesn’t even do justice to the actual, subtle paler color of the blossoms — they’re this color that I can only describe as creamy. As for digging them up, I’m probably too lazy, too, and new bulbs really aren’t that expensive. We’ll see…


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!