Green Thumb Sunday: Basil flower

Basil, flowered

Gardeners, plant and nature lovers can join in Green Thumb Sunday every week. Visit As the Garden Grows for more information.

6 Responses to “Green Thumb Sunday: Basil flower”


  1. 1 Ruth July 15, 2007 at 8:25 am

    What a sweet flower. I love Basil…there are so many kinds but they are all great additions to salads. Happy GTS

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener July 15, 2007 at 10:38 am

    Ruth, throwing basil leaves in salads is one of my favorite summertime treats. Happy GTS and thanks for stopping by!

  3. 3 Chigiy July 15, 2007 at 3:16 pm

    I love basil. It is my favorite herb.

  4. 4 Karen Hunter July 15, 2007 at 5:16 pm

    This beautiful photo made my day! Basil is my favorite herb as well. The only kind I am growing this summer is the purple ruffles.
    Happy Sunday!
    Karen

  5. 5 Crafty Gardener July 16, 2007 at 2:57 pm

    What a delicate flower the basil has … I love growing it, especially for the scent.

  6. 6 inadvertentgardener July 16, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    Chigiy, I have such a hard time picking a favorite (although sage is probably first on the list most of the time…), but I really do love basil.

    Karen, I wish I’d been able to grow the purple kind this year. It didn’t survive the bunnies…

    Crafty Gardener, I’d never actually gotten my basil to flower before, so it was kind of a treat to see this particular bloom. It’s definitely very delicate.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!