Lucky 13 (or 15, or 34, depending on what you’re counting)

I’ve been tagged for a blog meme once before, and now, recently, I’ve been tagged twice. Once, by Kenny of Veggie Gardening Tips for 7 Random Things About Me, and once, by Cole of Blah Blah Blah for 8 Things About Me.

So, here it is, folks. The definitive Inadvertent Gardener meme post.

And why is meme (me, me, me…) so appropriate? Because today is my birthday. Yeah, that’s right. Bring the celebrating.

Because it’s my birthday, I’m going to answer the call of the meme(s). I’m going to post 15 things about me. Seven random, eight less-but-still random. And then I’m going to be done with memes, at least until further notice.

We’ll start with Kenny’s tag. Because he’s a gardener to whom I look up, I’m going to try to keep this garden-focused.

  1. I don’t own a watering can. That’s right. Bring the ridicule.
  2. I water the bottom leaves of my tomato plants with total disregard for possible fungus, that same fungus that would not live there if the tomato plant died due to lack of water. That’s right. Bring the ridicule.
  3. I used to be scared to grow garlic. It seemed hard. What else can I say? Bring the ridicule.
  4. Truth be told, I wouldn’t kill a rabbit if it bit me in the ankle. OK, maybe that’s not totally true. But I like to think it is.
  5. I believe mulching probably has lots of benefits. But it’s a pain, so I tend not to do it.
  6. I have grown to find composting interesting. That’s right. Bring the ridicule.
  7. I get a little embarrassed when people come out in my yard and say “Wow. That’s not nearly as big or pretty as it seems on your blog.” That’s right.

Now, Cole’s tag. Here are eight facts about myself:

  1. If I owned a miniature schnauzer, I would name it Shazam.
  2. I do not, however, own any pets, because they would be sad when I travel. But one of these days…
  3. If I could completely disregard money, I would blog and write ficton all day. Really.
  4. OK, I would probably garden, too. And cook.
  5. Speaking of cooking, I eat too fast. Way. Too. Fast. Just watch me. You blinked? You missed it.
  6. My favorite kind of donut is plain cake.
  7. Speaking of cake, I hate ice cream cake. I like ice cream, and I like cake. Ice cream cake just seems like an evil and unnecessary hybridization. The cake ends up being too cold-hard-dry, and the ice cream is never all that good.
  8. Because I was born on a Friday the 13th, getting to celebrate my birthday on a Friday the 13th doesn’t seem like bad luck to me…it seems like an even better time than usual!

I’m not going to tag anyone and take either of these forward…but that is not to say that you shouldn’t feel tagged if you’re of that nature. Consider it my party favor to you.

Now…I’m off to celebrate!

14 Responses to “Lucky 13 (or 15, or 34, depending on what you’re counting)”


  1. 1 Lydia July 13, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    Happy birthday, Genie!

  2. 3 steven July 13, 2007 at 6:30 pm

    Happy Birthday, my laptop is going in for repair so I’ll me missing from the comments for a bit.

  3. 4 Carol July 13, 2007 at 8:12 pm

    Happy Birthday, Genie. And I would never ridicule you for not having a watering can, but I would ridicule you if you didn’t have a hoe. You do have a hoe, don’t you?

  4. 6 Katiez July 14, 2007 at 3:55 am

    Happy Birthday!
    Ditto with the ice cream cake – waste of two perfectly good sweets!

  5. 7 joefelso July 14, 2007 at 8:44 am

    Happy Birthday! I’m with you on five through seven. I eat so fast I suffer from foodnesia. I instantly forget what it was I consumed. Ice cream cakes are substandard—as my children’s birthdays taught me—but what about a “cake” made of stacked cake donuts…with some sort of glaze, no gluey frosting?

    P.S. Hope you don’t mind a comment from a stranger, but I tagged Cole, so I feel responsible. Sorry.

  6. 8 cole July 14, 2007 at 10:59 am

    Happy Birthday Genie…xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  7. 9 inadvertentgardener July 14, 2007 at 1:58 pm

    Steven, if my laptop needed repair, I might cry. I hope you’re back up and running soon!

    Carol, I do have access to a hoe, but it came with the place I’m renting. I rarely use it…and for that, probably deserve ridicule…

    Bright, that card is very weird…and very funny! Thank you!

    Katiez, thanks for the validation. I am always amazed that there are people that actually like ice cream cake!

    Joe, we like all kinds of commenters around here — strangers, new friends, old friends, etc. Thanks for stopping by and for the donut cake idea — that sounds fabulous!

    Cole, thank you!

  8. 10 kate July 14, 2007 at 4:16 pm

    Happy Birthday Genie from a fellow person born on a Friday the 13th (but my bday is in Dec)!

    If I had to own up to something, it is that I have three pretty watering cans and I never use them. Two of them have sprung leaks and the third I’m saving so it won’t spring a leak too! Ooops … I don’t own a hoe either.

    I agree with you wholeheartedly about ice cream cake. It rarely tastes as good as it might look unless it is homemade. hmmm… I’ve never had a homemade one so I don’t know why I’m saying this.

    I hope you had a lovely day!!

  9. 11 inadvertentgardener July 15, 2007 at 12:07 am

    Kate, I did have a lovely day. It started with some singing and some birthday cake for breakfast, and ended with a celebration with my parents — all good stuff! And isn’t it great to have that Friday the 13th in one’s pedigree? I love going against the crowd and thinking that’s an actual lucky day…

  10. 12 Sally July 15, 2007 at 5:41 am

    Happy (belated) birthday Genie. I’m so glad you had a nice day.

  11. 13 inadvertentgardener July 15, 2007 at 6:17 am

    Thanks, Sally! I appreciate it. :-)


  1. 1 Eight random things « The Inadvertent Gardener Trackback on September 19, 2007 at 12:15 am

Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!