Ask and the garden shall answer

No sooner had I asked the blogosphere about how to recognize a ripe Green Zebra tomato when I wandered outside to find this:

Ripened Green Zebra

So now I know what color they should end up being.

Sadly, this particular tomato was suffering from a particularly gross case of blossom end rot, so while it looks lovely from this angle, underneath it was all darkness and blight.

I dispatched it to the compost pile (and, shortly thereafter, wondered if tomatoes with blossom end rot were the kind of things one should perhaps keep OUT of the compost pile, but I surely wasn’t reaching in the bin after it…), but it served its purpose.

9 Responses to “Ask and the garden shall answer”


  1. 1 steven July 5, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    Too bad about the blossom end rot, I’m not sure if they really work, but you can give one of the sprays a try. I’ve had it show up in my tomatoes before and it’s disappeared whether I sprayed or not.

  2. 2 Carol July 5, 2007 at 11:03 pm

    Genie… blossom end rot is caused generally by calcium deficiency, or extreme fluctuations in soil moisture. I think it is fine to throw them into the compost bin. I’ve had tomatoes with b.e.r. before. The good news is that generally later on in the season it seems to be less of a problem, at least for me. But it can be so disappointing to see what you think is a delicious ripe tomato, and then see that rot underneath!

  3. 3 inadvertentgardener July 5, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    Steven, I’m going to try to avoid spray unless the problem gets really bad. I think it’ll be OK…we’ll see. One tomato with b.e.r. isn’t a huge deal…there are more where that came from!

    Carol, I didn’t realize that about the cause of it…interesting information — thank you! I figure I’ll see how it shakes out. Like I said to Steven, I’m not super-worried yet.

  4. 4 Kenny July 7, 2007 at 11:30 am

    Genie, that tomato looks sooo good in spite of the end rot! I grow a lot of heirloom tomato varities already but I’ll have to add green zebra to the list for next season. I agree that the blossom end rot is usually very temporary and not worth worrying over, now a gigantic tomato hornworm… that’s a completely different story!

  5. 5 inadvertentgardener July 7, 2007 at 11:47 am

    Kenny, I loved the color of that one. Other folks have been raving to me about this kind of tomato, and, like I said, I know I’ve eaten it and loved it before. I can’t wait to try them off the actual plant! And so far, no hornworms this year…

  6. 6 growthumbs July 7, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    Well next time you will get one of those ripe zebra tomatoes.

  7. 7 inadvertentgardener July 7, 2007 at 10:51 pm

    I hope so…there are definitely more getting ready to turn!

  8. 8 Ms. Tart July 8, 2007 at 4:02 pm

    Oh interesting! I just wrote a post about a beefsteak tomato that rotted on the bottom – I figured it had to do with the fruit’s proximity to a leafstalk, but maybe it’s blossom end rot. I posted a picture – let me know if this is what I’m experiencing. I’d never heard of it before. The other beefsteak is totally fine, so it seems like it’s probably not related to soil conditions. Hmm..

  9. 9 inadvertentgardener July 9, 2007 at 9:56 pm

    Ms. Tart, do you have a link to the picture? I definitely want to go check it out.


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!