Hanging in there

The sideways tomatoOf all the tomato plants in my current custody, the hanging basket tomato is doing the least well.

It has been growing steadily, but much more slowly than its backyard counterparts. It also has a lot less sun and dirt and water and, well, all that other stuff the experts recommend for plants.

But it’s hanging in there.

Over the weekend, it reached the roof of the porch, and began a slow descent over the edge of the pot. And by slow, I do mean that it is starting to grow sideways. I suppose that will work until the first three tomatoes form, at which point, it should drop over. I’m just hoping the roots hold and don’t decide to give way.

Perhaps I should mulch the dirt with rocks to give it a little ballast?

4 Responses to “Hanging in there”


  1. 1 Briana June 27, 2007 at 11:31 am

    I’m imagining a tiny chain and anchor hanging over the opposite side…

  2. 2 inadvertentgardener June 28, 2007 at 12:00 am

    Briana, that’s not a bad idea…

  3. 3 Sally June 29, 2007 at 7:26 am

    OR… you could just take it out of there and plant it in your garden. The pot isn’t deep enough for the roots. You need a 5 gal. bucket size of container. If you do decide to replant it, just lay it on the ground and plant the stalk up to the first set of leaves (leave about an inch between leaves and ground) and it should be OK. I was going to say something when I first saw you planting that there, but I was curious as to how it would turn out. Sorry – not very neighborly of me. ;)

  4. 4 inadvertentgardener June 29, 2007 at 9:48 am

    Sally, you’re totally neighborly! I’m thinking I’m still going to leave it — I’m curious to see if it produces at all. And I have so many out-of-control tomato plants in my back yard that I’m afraid of what one more would do…


Leave a Reply

Getting in touch

Need garden advice? Then you probably shouldn't send me an email.

Also, please note that this site has now relocated and will not be updated. You can find me at the new and improved location.

Take a look back…



All words and images (unless otherwise credited) on The Inadvertent Gardener are © 2006-2008 Eugenia E. Gratto. All rights reserved.

Drop in & Decorate

Bake. Decorate. Donate.
Free guide tells you how!